You Are More.

I usually do Words for Wednesday blog posts on Wednesdays, but decided to share this song instead. More Words for Wednesdays posts can be found herehere, here and here.

“You are More” by Tenth Avenue North

“There’s a girl in the corner with tear stains on her eyes
From the places she’s wandered and the shame she can’t hide

She says, “How did I get here? I’m not who I once was.
And I’m crippled by the fear that I’ve fallen too far to love”

But don’t you know who you are, what’s been done for you?
Yeah don’t you know who you are?

You are more than the choices that you’ve made,
You are more than the sum of your past mistakes,
You are more than the problems you create,
You’ve been remade.

Well she tries to believe it, that she’s been given new life
But she can’t shake the feeling that it’s not true tonight.

She knows all the answers and she’s rehearsed all the lines
And so she’ll try to do better, but then she’s too weak to try.

But don’t you know who you are?

You are more than the choices that you’ve made,
You are more than the sum of your past mistakes,
You are more than the problems you create,
You’ve been remade.

Wow. This song left me speechless at first because it’s something that relates to my life and maybe a lot of your lives. This song was a perfect reminder of the mindset I need to be in and honestly encompasses why I began this blog in the first place. Realizing your past does not define you is one of the most vital things you can do! I’ve rehashed and overanalyzed things I’ve done that have embarrassed or ashamed me. I’ve felt guilty for long periods of time and beat myself up. Coming to terms with the fact that I am MORE than mistakes, problems, past experiences and anything else I regret was one of the most significant points in my life. I hope all of you already realize this or do soon because I promise, it’s one of the greatest, liberating feelings (crown polishes) you will have. It’s time to start forgiving yourself, moving on and living a better life and treating yourself like the queen you were created to be. XO

Below is the full “You Are More” by Tenth Avenue North video on YouTube. In the video, everyone writing on the chalkboard what they are upset about, and at the end everything is washed away clean. Talk about powerful imagery.

4 responses to “You Are More.

  1. Beautiful song—-about a beautiful message—–LOVE IT!!!!! and love you!!!

  2. Pingback: When real people fall down in life, they get right back up and keep walking. | Polish your crown & treat yourself like a queen

  3. Pingback: I’m a change in the making. | Polish your crown & treat yourself like a queen

  4. Pingback: She decided she was worth it. | Polish my crown

Leave a Reply

