The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path, one of the principal teachings of the Buddha, describes the way to the end of suffering through a set of steps –

1. Right view – Understanding of how reality is
2. Right Intention – A commitment to self-improvement
3. Right Speech – Moral discipline to not speak lies, hurt others with harsh words, or idle chatter
4. Right Action – Act kindly and compassionately
5. Right Livelihood – Wealth should be gained legally and peacefully
6. Right Effort – To exert oneself to develop
7. Right Mindfulness – Body-and-mind awareness of being in the present moment
8. Right Concentration – Enlightened meditation


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s