Guest Post: Pieces of my Puzzle

>>>This is the first of many guest posts on Polish My Crown. I am blessed to know Catherine on a professional and personal level and I’m so excited to share her post with you – she is here to remind you to not be discouraged and inspire you to continue pursuing your dreams with your head held high. Thank you for Catherine for opening up and using your own story to inspire and encourage others! Enjoy! xo -Andi

Hi, Everyone!

I’m Catherine, a coffee-drinking, couture-loving junior journalism and French student who is flattered to be guest posting on Polish My Crown! Wondering what on earth I should write about, I came to the conclusion that since I have been so inspired by Polish My Crown, I would like to share my story in hopes of inspiring a few of you as well!

Although I am an overly positive and optimistic person, I’ll never shy away from acknowledging that I, too, am human – and one who often feels puzzled as to why certain events happen in my life

Never has my human imperfection been clearer than in the month of March: it truly went in like a lion and out like a lamb. I experienced the highest of highs and the lowest of lows, ever-changing as the March weather and wind. I laughed; I cried. I loved; I lost. I celebrated success, much as I overcame failures. I felt lost and incapable, much as I felt aware and sound. I struggled with self-doubt, dwindling self-esteem and dealt with mean people and simultaneously rediscovered my inborn drive, positive inner voice and inspiration. I dreaded the future, dwelled on the past and sometimes forgot to live in the present; yet through it all, I was not defeated!

I learned to accept and love who I am, flaws and flyaway hairs included. But most importantly, I realized that the puzzle pieces of my life, just as yours, somehow fit together perfectly through a slow, piece-by-piece process – you just have to be brave enough to take the leap of faith to living the life you imagined.

It is amazing how much a change of outlook and attitude can do for your work ethic and your relationships!

I learned the value behind the belief that, “As one door closes, another one (or three in my case!) opens.” Always looking for beauty, I overcame disappointment, and a greater plan was revealed. I pressed on, worked hard and chased after my goals, whether or not they seemed realistic at the time.

After a heartbreaking loss of a loved one and rejection, three positive things brought sunshine back into my life. As someone who recognizes that we can often feel like hamsters on a wheel, pressing forward and going nowhere, it was refreshing to be reassured to keep running. I learned to “Keep Calm and Carry On,” and through it all, I altered my attitude and strengthened my positive outlook on life.

“Being defeated is only a temporary condition. Giving up is what makes it permanent.” –Marilyn vos Savant.

Life is an exciting adventure, and Walt Disney would agree, “All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them!”

I worked hard and I am honored to have been chosen for executive positions next year in Thread magazine and University Program Council! I’m eager to see what exciting endeavors these positions entail! But most of all, I am thankful to those who encouraged me, as I feel truly blessed by my recent success.

While I’m thrilled for these positions to start, my most exciting accomplishment is landing an internship with the Marie Claire beauty department this summer in New York City! Much love to Andi Teggart and Aimee Rancer for all their help and support! I couldn’t have done it with out them and can’t wait for the thrilling adventures and opportunities waiting for me on Manhattan Island!

An alternation in attitude through this excitement revealed that the perceived pieces of a broken puzzle started falling into place, making an even more beautiful, more complete puzzle than I could have ever imagined! Dreams seemed to be coming true.

The cornerstone to my success is the remarkable people who shaped me into what I am today. I believe that for each thing there is a season, and that everything happens for a reason. “To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under the sun,” –Ecclesiastes 3: 1. People come into your life, and people go, much as the change of each season. Cherish and value your time with them; everyone is brought into your life for a purpose and leaves a lasting impact on your life!

Anthony J. D’Angelo: “The most important things in life aren’t things.”

While success is wonderful, securing a support system and cherishing these relationships is essential is fulfilling happiness in life. Find a group of positive friends who can appreciate your dreams and build your self-esteem: I am so thankful for the friends who have supported me! Blessed by recent success, I will not forget those who held my hand through hardships, helping me get to where I am today. I LOVE YOU ALL!

I want to encourage you, too, to not let sadness, disappointment or self-doubt stop you from pursuing your dreams. I am confident that your puzzle will get pieced together too. So what are you waiting for? Stop puzzling: banish negative thoughts, love your friends, go after your goals and make your dream happen!

My beliefs:
I believe that a strong cup of coffee is a cure-all and that a smile sparks joy. After all, Australian designer Liz Davenport said, “Your smile is your best accessory.”

I believe that good things come to those who wait and that my life has a plan and purpose far greater than my own. -Proverbs

A little bit more about me:
So there you have it! I’m Catherine, an Ohio University student with hopes and dreams who will be spending her summer in the city that never sleeps. I’m in love with Paris, New York, Marc Jacobs, coffee and fashion and strive to always have a smile on my face. Yes, I do believe a cupcake to be a perfectly acceptable breakfast just as strongly as I know that your puzzle will piece itself together too. Just believe. XXX- Catherine.

To Stay-up-to-date on my summer happenings, follow my Twitter (@catcald), my blog www.catcald.wordpress.com (which will be up and running again this summer!)…oh, and I tumble from time to time: www.catcald.tumblr.com.

Leave a Reply

