The 49 Character Qualities We Daily Choose:

  • Alertness vs. Unawareness: Being aware of that which is taking place around me so I can have the right response to it
  • Attentiveness vs. Unconcern: Showing the worth of a person by giving undivided attention to his words and emotions
  • Availability vs. Self-centeredness: Making my own schedule and priorities secondary to the wishes of those I am serving
  • Boldness vs. Fearfulness: Confidence that what I have to say or do is true and right
  • Cautiousness vs. Rashness: Knowing how important right timing is in accomplishing right actions
  • Compassion vs. Indifference: Investing whatever is necessary to heal the hurts of others 
  • Contentment vs. Covetousness: Realizing that God has provided everything I need for my present happiness
  • Creativity vs. Underachievement: Approaching a need, a task, an idea from a new perspective
  • Decisiveness vs. Double-mindedness:The ability to finalize difficult decisions based on the will and ways of God
  • Deference vs. Rudeness: Limiting my freedom in order not offend the tastes of those I serve
  • Dependability vs. Inconsistency: Fulfilling what I consented to do even if it means unexpected sacrifice
  • Determination vs. Faintheartedness: Purposing to accomplish the right goals in the right time regardless of the opposition 
  • Diligence vs. Slothfulness: Visualizing each task as a special assignment and using all my energies to accomplish it
  • Discernment vs. Judgment: The God-given ability to understand why things happen
  • Discretion vs. Simplemindedness: The ability to avoid words, actions, and attitudes which could result in undesirable consequences
  • Endurance vs. Giving up: The inward strength to withstand stress to accomplish the best
  • Enthusiasm vs. Apathy: Expressing with my soul the joy of my spirit 
  • Faith vs. Presumption: Visualizing what God intends to do in a given situation and acting in harmony with it
  • Flexibility vs. Resistance: Not setting my affections on ideas or plans which could be changed on outside circumstances
  • Forgiveness vs. Rejection: Clearing the record of those who have wronged me and instead choosing to love them
  • Generosity vs. Stinginess: Realizing that all I have has been GIVEN to me and should be used for a better and higher purpose
  • Gentleness vs. Harshness: Showing personal care and concern in meeting the need of others
  • Gratefulness vs. Unthankfulness: Making known to God and others in what ways they have benefited my life 
  • Hospitality vs. Loneliness: Cheerfully sharing food, shelter, and spiritual refreshment with those brought into my life
  • Humility vs. Pride: Recognizing that it is actually God and others who are responsible for the achievements in my life
  • Initiative vs. Unresponsiveness: Recognizing and doing what needs to be done before I am asked to do it
  • Joyfulness vs. Self-pity: The spontaneous enthusiasm of my spirit
  • Justice vs. Fairness: Personal responsibility the truth and the law
  • Love vs. Selfishness: Giving to others’ basic needs without having as my motive personal reward
  • Loyalty vs. Unfaithfulness: Using difficult times to demonstrate my commitment to God and to those whom He has called me to serve
  • Meekness vs. Anger: Yielding my personal rights and expectations
  • Obedience vs. Willfulness: Freedom to be creative under the protection of divinely appointed authority
  • Orderliness vs. Disorganization: Preparing myself and my surroundings so I will achieve the greatest efficiency
  • Patience vs. Restlessness: Accepting a difficult situation without a deadline to remove it 
  • Persuasiveness vs. Contentiousness: Guiding vital truths around another’s mental roadblocks
  • Punctuality vs. Tardiness: Showing high esteem for other people and their time
  • Resourcefulness vs. Wastefulness: Wise use of that which others would normally overlook or discard
  • Responsibility vs. Unreliability: Knowing and doing what both  others are expecting from me and what I expect from myself
  • Reverence vs. Disrespect: Awareness of how God is working through the people and events in my life to produce the best character in me
  • Security vs. Anxiety: Structuring my life around that which is eternal and cannot be destroyed or taken away 
  • Self-Control vs. Self-indulgence: Instant obedience
  • Sensitivity vs. Callousness: Exercising my senses so I can perceive the true spirit and emotions of those around me
  • Sincerity vs. Hypocrisy: Eagerness to do what is right with transparent motives
  • Thoroughness vs. Incompleteness: Knowing what factors will diminish the effectiveness of my work or words if neglected
  • Thriftiness vs. Extravagance: Not letting myself or others spend that which is not necessary
  • Tolerance vs. Prejudice: Acceptance of others as unique expressions of specific character qualities in varying degrees of maturity
  • Truthfulness vs. Deception: Earning future trust by accurately reporting past facts
  • Virtue vs. Impurity: The moral excellence and purity of spirit that radiate from my life
  • Wisdom vs. Natural Inclinations: Seeing and responding to life’s situations from God’s frame of reference 
>>>Just something to think about! It’s easy to think we have no control or choice over things that happen to us – but we CAN choose how we are going to handle each situation and experience that comes our way. Reading through the above list really reminded me that I how I choose to handle each day reflects on my character. Choose forgiveness over rejection. Choose creativity over under-achievement. Choose humility over pride. Choose joy over self-pity. 
>>>I originally found this on Bill Gothard‘s website – thanks!
Leave a Reply

