Happy Mother's Day!

>>>For giving birth to me and three other girls, for countless meals fixed or fetched, for being a good example, for doing our hair every day before school, for always putting us above yourself, for refereeing more sibling battles than I can count, for pretending and being silly, for praying for me, for enduring back to school shopping with four daughters every single year, for thinking the world of me, for carpooling, for taking us on family vacations, for teaching me about style, for waking up early to make sure our days were completely on-schedule and ready, for protecting us from harm, for having breakfast ready each morning, for correcting us when we were mean, for scratching my back, for listening to kids’ music in the car, for teaching VBS classes and Sunday School, for helping me pick out Homecoming and Prom dresses and being totally honest about what they dress REALLY looked like, for being our teacher, for being our advocate, for being a friend, for believing in me, for never complaining, for your enthusiasm, for forgiving me, for the time you spent at home all day everyday with us before we were old enough for school, for comforting me when I am hurt, for keeping a smile on your face even when you want to burst into tears, for confidentially counseling our friends, for the countless drives to Athens you took to pick me up, for cheering me in the bleachers even when I couldn’t score a point to save my life, for helping me brush my Barbies hair and agonize with me when Nikita ate my American Girl doll, for teaching us about God, for dealing with my pre-teen mood swings, for loving everyone unconditionally, for creating Halloween costumes for us – like when Kerry and Katie were grapes, for staying calm, for reminding me the “other side” of the argument, for taking us sledding, for teaching us to read and write, for loving Dad, for being generous, for your wisdom, for being willing to give the shirt of your back for absolutely anyone, for doing all of these things with a smile on your face – and for modeling how to live life to the fullest every single day.* Words cannot express how much my mom means to me and how thankful I am to have her in my life! She is such a beautiful woman, inside and out and I hope to be half as patient, kind and generous as she is someday. She is “clothed with strength and dignity and laughs with no fear of the future” (Proverbs 31). She has done so much for me and other people and I am truly blessed to have her as my parent. Wish I could be spending the day with her. Happy Mothers Day!

5 responses to “Happy Mother's Day!

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my crown

  2. …………………..

  3. Pingback: 25 Rules for Mothers of Daughters | Polish my Crown

  4. Pingback: I love you, Mom. | Polish my Crown

  5. Pingback: seeking beauty and truth | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

