Happy Birthday Polish My Crown!

Wow! Today is an exciting day for me because it marks the first birthday of my blog, Polish My Crown. I officially started the blog one year ago today – so I encourage you to read my first-ever post to figure out what was going through my head. In that first post, on June 16, 2010, I wrote:

It will not a blog about “why my life is awesome” or anything of the sort. That is NOT AT ALL what I mean by the queen crown references or titles…I want to post videos, stories, pictures, quotes and anything else  that inspires me, confuses me, makes me happy and/or anything else that adds to the thrill of everyday life. I want this blog to reflect why it’s important to laugh at certain situations and why it’s important to learn from all situations. I choose to remain positive, even when I’m feeling pretty low and a little “crown polishing” never hurt anyone.

I hope you enjoy reading why I choose to polish my crown on a regular basis and why I am happy finding inspiration in my everyday life.

I’ve dabbled into blogging previously,  but until a year ago, had never utilized my blog as a source of personal expression or thought process. I had never used my blog as a catalyst for change and inspiration – which is why I am so excited about celebrating Polish My Crown’s first birthday.

I vividly remember where I was at in life one year ago when I started the blog and although it hasn’t been a completely easy trip, I have been beyond blessed. So much has happened since that first post – I moved back home for the summer, started and finished my senior year of college, moved to NYC to intern at Marie Claire, graduated college and moved to San Francisco to start my first job. More importantly, I’ve enjoyed time well spent with great friends and family. I’ve enjoyed and appreciated the God-given opportunities placed in my life and soaked up the sheer joy of everyday life. It’s certainly been a crown-polished year, to say the least.

I definitely think I’ve grown as a person and as a blogger – and I’m finally starting to embrace my voice online. 

Looking back on my last year blogging, I think it’s important to share with you in this post my favorite posts throughout the past 365 days of blogging. Something I started a few months ago was day-specific posts. Every Wednesday, I’ve shared  Words for Wednesday posts to inspire readers with quotes or lyrics revolving around a specific topic and on every Thursday, the Thursday Thankful List posts share the little things that make my life a little sweeter.  The posts below were not necessarily the easiest to write, but are ones I’ve been most inspired by and have learned the most from. Hope you agree!

I want to say THANK YOU to all of you reading – whether you have been reading and been along for the ride or are new to my blog. Your support, encouragement and love makes it so much easier to maintain a positive attitude and choose to live life extraordinarily. You have made the past year blogging so much more enjoyable and are honestly the reason I keep sharing and opening my life and feelings to you online. While my life is far from perfect, I choose to view this crazy life as a valuable gift, a precious experience and a necessary catalyst for change. I choose to embrace the queen-ness and the “crown polishing” and live my life extraordinarily and joyfully. This blog is a source of happiness, peace and hope for me; and I hope for you. This blog is for you. Thank you for reading! xo

4 responses to “Happy Birthday Polish My Crown!

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my crown

  2. Pingback: Positive Thursday: Celebrating Accomplishments | 8 Women Dream

  3. Pingback: Happy 2nd Birthday Polish My Crown! | Polish my Crown

  4. I’ve recently started a web site, the info you provide on this website has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

Leave a Reply

