On being happy with yourself :

I used to get hurt so badly. Any bit of criticism, I would cry.
But at some point I just realized, I count more than anyone else, or anybody’s opinion, because I’m living my life. I’m captain of this ship, without a first mate. And I really, really like who I am.

I learned to love myself, because I sleep with myself every night and I wake up with myself every morning. When I was 14 or 15, I saw myself in a different way.
Back then, I envied a life that I’d made up in my mind.
I broke free of that unhappiness and I decided to change—

I was going to be happy with myself.
No matter what I look like, no matter what people think. -Gabourey Sidbe

2 responses to “On being happy with yourself :

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my crown

  2. Pingback: Positive Thursday: 80 Things to be Thankful for | 8 Women Dream

Leave a Reply

