Q&A with Molly from Smart Pretty & Awkward

>>>I had the privilege of asking Molly, from Smart Pretty & Awkward a few questions. Her blog has been one of my favorites for awhile; her words and advice always seem to turn my not-so-hot days around! She’s definitely a blogging inspiration. For those of you who read her blog, you already know how much of a queen she already is – and if not, this quick Q & A will reassure you. Thanks again Molly – can’t wait until we finally meet in person! Woo! xoxo

1. When/why did you start Smart Pretty & Awkward?
I started Smart Pretty and Awkward in December 2008, as a creative outlet.

2. The goal of Polish My Crown is to encourage others to live their life to the fullest by being their fabulous and magnificent self. In what ways have you used your own SP&A blog to inspire others?
I would never want anyone to come to SP&A and leave the site feeling worse about themselves. My goal for the site has always been to reaffirm to girls that they are not alone, that everyone feels awkward or scared or confused, and that there are always tips to make life easier.

3. Is there a certain subject that’s easier or harder to write about week after week?
Some days it’s really hard to think of a smarter, some days it’s a prettier, and some days its a less awkward….some days it’s even that I just can’t find the right quote to start the post. I’m super picky about what I post and what I don’t, so I have a huge word document full of reject posts or sentences or ideas that didn’t quite make the cut.

4. We all can use pick-me-ups, or as I like to call them, “crown polishes” every once in a while? What are your go-to sources when you need a little mood boost or encouragement?
That’s such a great question, and I love the phase “crown polishes”! It’s impossible for me to write anything without music blaring super-loud in my headphones (even now, as I’m writing this email, I’m blasting Now 39), so I would definitely consider music to be a crown polish. I also love doing gymnastics, reading my favorite blogs, and trading inside jokes with my friends and family, either via e-mail or in real life.

5. How has blogging impacted your life as a whole? In what other aspects of life does your writing affect?
Blogging has 100% changed my entire life. I started the blog when I was working at a large financial firm, on-track to go into a long career in finance…doing a blog changed my career path to online marketing, and then that transformed, once SP&A was ready, into a full-time career in blogging. Writing a blog affects almost every aspect of my life: the near-constant emails I get, the way I am always thinking about real-life events: is that a prettier/smarter/awkward?, the the way I introduce myself at parties when people ask what I do, and just my day-to-day tasks working for myself. Pretty much my whole life changed, although I didn’t know it at the time, when I bought the domain name SmartPrettyandAwkward.com!

6. Tell us more about Coffee with Molly! Why should people subscribe to the newsletter?
Coffee with Molly is a paid subscription newsletter that comes out about 6 times per month. I call it Coffee with Molly, because it’s more personal than the blog and includes details and pictures from my life (sort of like we are having a cup of coffee together–that’s why it is $2.23/month, because that is the price of a cup of coffee). If you ever wonder about who write Smart Pretty and Awkward, then I would encourage you to subscribe, but if that’s not your jam and you’d rather just read the blog, I’m happy to have you as just a reader, too!

7. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Um, if someone told me five years ago I would be a full-time blogger, I would have responded, dead-serious, “what is a blog?” So I have no idea where I’ll be in five years…hopefully deliriously happy (and still blasting the NOW cds while I write).

2 responses to “Q&A with Molly from Smart Pretty & Awkward

  1. Pingback: Smart Pretty and Awkward » Blog Archive » “We can laugh/We can sing/Have ten kids and give ‘em everything” — “If It’s Love,” Train

  2. Thanks for all of the work on this web site. Debby loves carrying out research and it’s obvious why. All of us learn all concerning the compelling form you deliver both useful and interesting steps by means of this web site and boost contribution from people on this point and our own princess is certainly understanding a lot of things. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You’re carrying out a very good job.

Leave a Reply

