How to Escape a Bad Day

>>> I’d like to tell you that every single day of my life is absolutely fantastic full of cheerfulness and silliness. While that sounds like a ball of fun, it’s far from the truth. Yes, for the most part, I do enjoy every day, but there are some days where I am just plain mad or bad or sad. Rather than just pretend this negative energy and gloom doesn’t exist, I’ve learned to face it head on. We ALL have “those days” and it’s key to step outside of the situation (aka the mood you are in, the actual physical spot you’re in, whatever) and hit the REFRESH button on life. Here’s my tips to snap out of terrible, horrible, no good, very bad mood:

1. Take a walk and get some fresh air. Just seeing the sunshine is a mood-booster and physically moving your body wakes you up from your gloomy state.

2. Close your eyes and breathe deeply for a minute. Think about the best day of your life. Think about what DOES make you happy. Focus on those things instead of your funky, sad mood.

3.  Plan lunch/dinner dates with friends. My friends make all the difference in the world. Without them, life would definitely be miserable.

4. Make a list of all the things you are thankful for and then post it somewhere you see everyday. Computer screen, bathroom mirror, closet door. Anywhere or everywhere. Having your thankful list in physical locations you are in will be a quick reminder of what you DO appreciate in life.

5. Nap. Or just go to bed early. One of the best decisions I can make after a not-so-great day is just to immediately craw into bed and call it a day. The extra hours of sleep keep me refreshed and perky for the next, new day.

6. “Pretty time” – whether it’s a new haircut, getting a manicure, massage, whatever. Taking time to make your physical body feel beauuuutiful and healthy and lovely is key.

7. Make lists. Do you ever wake up and feel like your life is a ball of chaos? Trust me, writing down what you want to do that day or tasks that need to be completed makes a world of a difference.

8. Vent! Sometimes you really need to just let it out – tell someone you know and love that you are struggling and that you are just having a not-so-great day.

9. Turn up the music! I just downloaded TONS of new music on iTunes today – so very needed. What we listen to truly does impact our thoughts and interactions, so listen to music that makes you feel the happiest. Music that makes you smile. Music that makes you feel good.

10. Hit the gym. I always feel better on the days where I go to the gym in the morning. If I don’t make it to the gym before work, going after is a good way to “cool down” after a long day. If you don’t have a gym pass, go on a run or walk! Or just stretch – that also makes a difference. Your body will thank you!

11. Give back. Whether it’s spending time at a local homeless shelter or speaking to children in schools or just donating clothes to Goodwill, you will immediately feel better and purposeful. Your day will automatically be better and so will someone else’s.

12. Grab a mid-day pick-me-up. Most of us have experience a little bit of a lag after the busy morning rush – or is that just me? Grabbing an afternoon cup of coffee or tea makes a world of difference to really re-boost my energy and attitude.

13. Spend a few minutes around animals or small children. It’s actually impossible for me to be in a bad mood when looking at dogs in the park – they are hilarious! I’ve also found that I can learn a lot from young kids. Their joy is so real and so contageous…small children also remind me of times in life when things were much simpler. I always end up feeling better!

14. Unplug. Just stop looking at the computer and your phone and your TV. Forget about technology altogether. After long, not-so-great days, turning off my computer and phone is just what I need to ‘escape’ the chaos and simply just be.

15. Pray. Ask God to give you peace and calmness. Recognize that this day might not be perfect – but ask God for a strengthened spirit and attitude to move forward the rest of the day.

How do you escape bad days? Send your tips my way! xo -Andi

5 responses to “How to Escape a Bad Day

  1. Lovely post and a lovely reminder.

    I’m lucky because my son always brightens my day. Your parents probably think the same thing about you.

    Being around young people (like my son and his friends, or you and Katie) reminds me how wonderful life can be.

    Love the new look of your blog!

    Cath

  2. Pingback: Saddle up this wild life & ride. | Polish my crown

  3. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my crown

  4. Pingback: 10 Tips for Overcoming. | Polish my crown

  5. היי האם אתם יודעים שמומלץ להתקשר ל מאמן כושר אישי, מאמן כושר אישי, מגיע/ה אליך פעמיים בחודש. מומלץ לפעילות גופנית, בונה לך תוכנית כושר אישית שמתאימה לך לאופי שלך

Leave a Reply

