Accumulate experiences

Quit living as if the purpose of life is to arrive safely at death. Set God-sized goals. Pursue God-ordained passions. Go after a dream that is destined to fail without divine intervention. Keep asking questions. Keep making mistakes. Keep seeking God. Stop pointing out problems and become part of the solution. Stop repeating the past and start creating the future. Stop playing it safe and start taking risks. Accumulate experiences. Consider the lilies. Criticize by creating. Find every excuse you can to celebrate everything you can. Live like today is the first day and last day of your life. Don’t let what’s wrong with you keep you from worshiping what’s right with God. Burn sinful bridges. Blaze new trails. Worry less about what people think and more about what God thinks. Don’t try to be who you’re not. Be yourself. Laugh at yourself. Quit holding out. Quit holding back. Quit running away.

—- I shared this excerpt from Mark Batterson’s book on my blog last summer and rereading it was exactly the crown polish I needed this morning. And by crown polish, I mean a much-needed slap in the face of reality via Mark’s insightful and challenging words. I want to share exactly what some of the words mean to me – hopefully they are a refreshing reminder for you as well. xo

  • Stop pointing out problems and become part of the solution – There are always things we wish were different. People, places, memories, situations, day-to-day interactions. Rather than constantly focus on the problem and soak in that negatively, choose to proactively look for a solution.
  • Stop repeating the past and start creating the futureWe can’t keep doing the same things and expect different results. I remember I always used to beat myself up and get upset for things that I was doing until I finally came to terms with the fact that I WAS THE ONE DOING THEM. I have the control and the ability to change. If you’re unhappy with something from your past, start living life in a different way and pursuing the future differently. It’s that plain + simple.
  • Accumulate experiences –  Ever heard the quote “the best things in life aren’t things?” Well, it’s true! Material possessions < experiences. Do something completely random! Go on an adventure!  Spend time with people who make you happy! Instead of spending money on getting something or having something, spend your money (and your time) living out something. You can put a pricetag on quality time spent with people you love, doing something you love.
  • Consider the lilies – This is why I write Thursday Thankful Lists every week. It’s so easy to think about the “big things” in life and be happy and thankful for them. Taking time to truly appreciate and marvel in little things that are often otherwise unnoticed is key. Have you ever noticed the intricate details in a flower? The color, the texture, the smell. Enjoying and appreciating “little things” like this truly opens your eyes and changes your perspective – these things are equally important as those “big things” we were talking about.

  • Find every excuse you can to celebrate everything you can – Every day is a new chance at life! We don’t need a specific day, promotion, birthday, holiday or REASON to celebrate. We can celebrate everything every day just because.
  • Worry less about what people think and more about what God thinks – It’s really hard for me to not care about what others think of me. I’m a self-proclaimed people pleaser and not proud to admit it. I am going to consciously remember to not overanalyze or worry about what other people think of me. Their opinions do not measure my worth or status.
  • Quit holding out. Quit holding back. Quit running away – For me, this means step. it. up. Quit cowering back in fear and living life passively. There are no ifs, ands or buts about it. It’s time to begin living life to the fullest right now – chasing life head-on. Living begins now!

Thanks for reading! With love,
Andi

7 responses to “Accumulate experiences

  1. Would love to check out this book! What’s the title? Thanks so much :)

  2. A great post, And! When I read this, I can’t help but celebrate and thank God for what a wonderful young woman you have grown into!

  3. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my crown

  4. Pingback: November Resolutions | Polish my crown

  5. Pingback: Nothing keeps the past away like the future! | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

