Thursday Thankful List

“Why would the world need more anger, more outrage? How does it save the world to reject unabashed joy when it is joy that saves us? Rejecting joy to stand in solidarity with the suffering doesn’t reduce the suffering. The converse does. The brave who focus on all things good and all things beautiful and all things true, even the small, who give thanks for it and discover joy even in the here and now, they are the change agent who bring fullest Light to all the world….”

Bus drivers
The lovely cleaning lady at my gym
The friendly security guy in my building
Crunchy leaves under my feet
The first sip of hot tea
New beginnings
Back scratches
The smell of fall
Reading before bed
My health
Grace
No, literally the ability to move my head, neck, arms, feet, body.
The man in the flower shop on Wednesday
Fog
When the sun illuminates just right
Jelly on my toast
Prayer
Feeling at peace instead of worry
Dusty shelves
Immediately picking up right where you left off
The way the sky turns purple, blue, orange, red and yellow all at once
Deep breaths
Being purposeful
Getting your hair shampooed/brushes
Small children in costume
Receiving mail
The smell of dry-cleaned clothes
The warmth of big sweaters
Walking barefoot
The smell of hazelnut coffee
The people who make my coffee everyday
Being able to run, walk, skip, jump whenever I want
Mercy
How it feels to hold hands with someone
Moments of quietness in the midst of chaos
The first bit of noise and talking in the midst of silence
Laughing from deep in your stomach
Quality time spent with quality people
Waking up feeling refreshed and ready to conquer the day
New ideas
Encouragement
Helpfulness
Long walks
Enthusiasm
The smile from dogs
Unexpected rewards
Randomly nice people
Warm weather in November
Talking about my feelings
Excitement
The ability to dress in whatever way I choose

The day I moved to San Francisco, my mom gave me a book titled One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp and I was recently flipping through it – the above and below quotes come directly from her book and are certainly the crown polish and reminder I needed today. To be thankful is to be brave. To be thankful is to open our eyes, minds and hearts to the little things that are often forgotten. To be thankful is to seek light in the middle of darkness and find  joy in the midst of sadness and pain. In this post, I wrote what it meant to me to “consider the lilies.” Today’s Thursday Thankful List is doing just that – recognizing and appreciating the little things. It would be easy to be thankful for my family, my apartment, my friends, my possessions, my job, etc every single week. I am thankful for these things, but I really want to challenge myself – and I challenge you – to look for the joy in the smallest of things.

With love,
Andi

“…When we lay the soil of our hard lives open to the rain of grace and let joy penetrate our cracked and dry places, let joy soak into our broken skin and deep crevices, life grows.”

4 responses to “Thursday Thankful List

  1. Pingback: One year ago today | Polish my Crown

  2. Pingback: Happy 2nd Birthday Polish My Crown! | Polish my Crown

  3. Pingback: Polish My Crown Reading List | Polish my Crown

  4. Pingback: Two Years Ago Today | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

