Keeping a thankful perspective.

Hiii lovely friends! How was your Thanksgiving yesterday? I hope it was absolutely wonderful and that your thankfulness continues over the weekend. With that being said, I’m SO excited to have one of my best friends and roommates, Aimee, share her story with you today! Aimee is someone I met on the first day of college and our friendship has only continued to grow and get better! She’s my family. I was blessed to have her and Courtney move to San Francisco – which has made my life so so so much happier and better. I’m definitely thankful for this girl and that she is willing to share with you!

Thanks again Aimee and enjoy everyone! xo

*Sidenote: One year ago today (after nine years of insane Black Friday shopping), I flew to New York to tart an adventure interning at Marie Claire – with, you guessed it, Aimee! Thought I’d include one of our hilarious NYC pictures in this post! What. a. month. that. was. You can find the blog post I wrote one year ago today here. —

Hi my fellow Queenies! My name is Aimee Rancer {@aimerancer} and I am the lovely roommate of the Queen Crown Polisher, Andi Teggart! When Andi approached me about writing a guest post focusing on thankfulness, I was not only so appreciative of the opportunity to share my own thoughts but also a bit stumped.

Thinking it over in my mind, I have a lot to be thankful this time around. This August I had the amazing opportunity to move out to San Francisco to pursue a career in a completely new city and coast. As I trekked from Ohio to California, I experienced every type of emotion be it happy, anxious, excited or scared. As I type, I have been in this amazing and uplifting city for three months and to be honest, still feel all those emotions and more each and every day.
I am a firm believer in going after what you want and if you have a vision, passion or desire, do anything you can to make that happen. My all-time favorite quote reminds me that hard work and a little bravery won’t go unnoticed: “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined.”

I have been challenged, both emotionally (missing my family and friends) and physically (these hills are a killah!) during my time here but wouldn’t have changed anything I have gone through thus far.  There are times where I come home mentally exhausted, questioning myself and why on Earth did I move? Yet, whenever I begin to doubt myself I try to keep perspective and realize that I am so lucky to be surrounded by friends (near and far) who are wildly supportive, a family who are more than loving and wants to see me happy and colleagues that have faced challenges and struggles far greater than I will ever know.

My friends have been my support and lifeline since I moved to SF. From my college roommates to my current close friends in the city, every conversation I have with them builds me up and I am so thankful I have those individuals who continue to talk and inspire me every day.

Along the same sentiment, I am thankful for both my parents and their never wavering love and positivity. From a simple message by my mother attempting to text (XOXoz Luv MOM) or my Dad on Skype forcing my dog’s paw to wave saying, “I love you,” mean the world to me. I feel so truly blessed to be a part of that family and be their child.

And the last thing I am truly grateful for is the individual’s I have met at my job in San Francisco. Coming from Ohio, I never truly experienced such diversity with people from all different backgrounds, life experiences, etc. However, through my job I have met co-workers who struggle to pay for expenses, have siblings with serious sicknesses like cancer and family that live in other countries. Yet, day after day they come in, work harder than the majority of people I have ever seen before (this is retail, FYI) with a smile on their face and a determination to make it through another day—not just for their own sanity, but because without a little faith, what’s the point?

So, with all that said this blog post is dedicated to those I’ve mentioned above and as a reminder to you and myself that I am thankful for all the things you have given me and will continue to give me.

Happy Holidays!

2 responses to “Keeping a thankful perspective.

  1. Pingback: 5 Ways to Style a Denim Shirt | Polish my Crown

  2. whoah it weblog is without a doubt wonderful i really like reading ones own posts. Compete the decent paintings! You no doubt know, lots of individuals are checking around for this purpose info, it is easy to help them all greatly.

Leave a Reply

