Chin Up, Buttercup.




Yesterday was not a good day. But you know what? Today will be.

I’m not sure what happened exactly yesterday. I’m thinking it was a mix of painfully missing my family, a major lack of real sleep and a few personal mishaps I’ve had lately. I just realized that the past month looked like this: Thanksgiving, impromptu trip to Portland, 2-day work retreat in Sonoma, office holiday party, friend’s birthday bash, two insanely crazy weeks at work, trip to Tahoe and way more social activity than I’m used to Monday-Friday. I have to be honest with you, I had a mini breakdown yesterday.

Talking to my mom in the middle of the day (yes, tears involved) was an absolute crown polish. She reminded me that yes, it’s important to be positive. Absolutely! But it’s so so so important to remember that being honest and realistic is not the same as being negative. Life doesn’t (and won’t) always be butterflies and rainbows and days where you want to jump up and down all the time. It’s more than okay to just feel “okay.”

Today’s Words for Wednesday is all about feeling okay. More importantly, it’s about being okay with feeling…just okay. As queens, it’s vital to learn how to accept and acknowledge how you feel and then be able communicate that effectively to yourself and people that love you. I’m someone who views life through a “glass half-full” lens, but I’m learning that I need to recognize that some things, situations, moods and feelings are hard and difficult and sometimes sad. That doesn’t make me a negative person, that doesn’t make me a complainer or a quitter – that makes me human.

Mom’s main piece of advice stuck with me: Acknowledging something is hard, challenging or stressful is reality and part of being human. And very different than complaining. 

That’s where I’m at today – and I can already feel today being better than yesterday. As always, thanks for reading/listening/everything!

xoxo Andi

*P.S. You have two days left to tell me what you’re thankful for!





17 responses to “Chin Up, Buttercup.

  1. This post was exactly what I needed to read today. Thanks Andi :)

  2. This may be one of my favorite posts yet, thank you!

  3. I love this post. In fact, I love it so much I’m reposting it at my place! Thanks!

  4. I have hit a “special-mom-moment.” When you were in fourth grade, I distinctly being in the library with you and you kept on asking me what book you should get. Every suggestion that I made you were not interested in. Do you remember that?

    I feel like I have turned the corner. Or maybe you have? Not sure. Sure of this, you are a wonderful young woman. Human———we all need The Divine to give us strength and perspective. Grace for today. We all need it! Love you, baby girl!!!!!!

  5. I absolutely needed this after a very hard day Tuesday. Your mom was absolutely right! Sometimes it’s perfectly fine to not be okay, and there’s nothing wrong with that. It’s all about how you pick yourself back up! I hope your Wednesday was better, Andi!

  6. Pingback: Mercies are new every morning. | Polish my crown

  7. Hope you’re feeling better now, Andi! I love each and everyone of the images in this post – great inspiration. Also – what Instagram plugin are you using? I tried to install three last week and all were buggy and not working.

  8. Pingback: Positive Thursday: When You Feel “Just Okay.” | 8 Women Dream

  9. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my crown

  10. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my crown

  11. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my Crown

  12. Pingback: cheerful in every situation | Polish my Crown

  13. Pingback: Happy 2nd Birthday Polish My Crown! | Polish my Crown

  14. Pingback: advice for a bad day | Polish my Crown

  15. Pingback: a quick update | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

