Mercies are new every morning.

19-21 I’ll never forget the trouble, the utter lostness,
the taste of ashes, the poison I’ve swallowed.
I remember it all—oh, how well I remember—
the feeling of hitting the bottom.
But there’s one other thing I remember,
and remembering, I keep a grip on hope:

22-24 The unfailing love of the Lord never ends,
By his mercies we have been kept from complete destruction.
Great is Thy faithfulness –
His mercies are new every morning.

{Lamentations 3: 19-24}

I explained earlier in the week that I wasn’t having a fabulous day and I wanted to share a piece of hope I cling onto in these situations. I’m reminded this morning that every day is a refresh button – a new beginning. His mercies are new every morning. Every time I’m feeling off or strange or down or in a funk, I remember God’s love and mercies never end – they are always pouring out over me. I’m reminded that mercies begin afresh this morning and I will begin today again. xoxo

*I’m selecting a holiday giveaway winner tonight – will be announcing late tonight or tomorrow morning! Tell me what you’re thankful for!

6 responses to “Mercies are new every morning.

  1. Thank you for this post, Andi. 2011 has been a rough year, and while I’ve turned to scripture many times, this is one I have not recently read, and it really hit me. God works in mysterious and wonderful ways. Blessings to you for bringing me His good news today!

  2. Stacey – I’ve read this Bible verse so many times and this week (specifically Tues and Thurs) it really hit me. Even at our ultimate low, every morning is another merciful, grace-filled day from God. Even when I don’t deserve it. Thank you for your comment and 2012 will definitely be better for both of us :) xoxo

  3. I’m thankful for heading home to NWO for the holidays, getting TWO holiday cards in the mail yesterday with pictures of my niece and newest nephew, and extra thankful that today is Friday and there is a full weekend of holiday funtivities ahead!

  4. I’m thankful for bad coffee, good friends, and my adorable dog Lorelei who keeps me laughing. I’m thankful that I still have my mom 16 years after a cancer diagnosis. I’m thankful for memories of Christmases past, 7 years after losing my father, and thankful that the memories of Christmases with him help me make new memories with my 8-year-old nieces.

    (I’m also thankful for this blog, which never fails to brighten my worst days!)

  5. :) I am thankful for blogs like Polish My Crown, a constant source of inspiration and reflection. I am thankful for holiday light shoes put on by local churches, my Kitchen Aid mixer, the last late night of Finals spent on the couch- Christmas with the Cranks in the background, early morning sun shining, Christmas with my grandparents, thrift shopping and a good night’s sleep.

  6. Pingback: Say hello to a new day. | Polish my crown

Leave a Reply

