Thursday Thankful List

As I write this, I’m feeling sad, discouraged and a bit of grief. I think it’s very important to own up to their types of feelings, instead of pretending they aren’t real. As someone who is naturally cheerful, optimistic and bubbly, I absolutely hate feeling this way but I am not going to avoid the emotions. The most important thing to remember whenever we are down, sad, upset, disheartened or “off” is this: unfair, terrible and troubling things happen to all of us. We have two options: we can let these situations rule our lives or we can view them as a small bump.

I choose the latter. Even though I’m feeling on the verge of tears, I want to share 26 things I’m thankful for today {it’s the 26th day of January, can you believe it?!}. These small but mighty things I’m sharing are what’s getting me through the rough and sad days; things I can always depend on to brighten my mood and bring a small skip back into my step. Also, I found out some scary news this week and I ask for your very positive thoughts and prayers for someone I love very much. Thank you {always} for being so supportive, loving and lovely! xx

1. Hot {or iced} coffee in the morning/mid-afternoon
2. Hot tea before bed
3. Being able to call my mom whenever I want
4. Warm days in January
5. The opportunity to have two best friends live in the same city as I do
6. Feelings – both good and bad
7. The sound of a song that brings back a happy memory
8. That God is close to the brokenhearted
9. Emails that end in “Thank you!”
10. First lighting a candle – and then the smell and flickering light after
11. Not being in high school anymore
12. How supportive certain people are that I have yet to even meet in person
13. Feeling safe and warm when it’s storming outside
14. Homemade brunch {this weekend will be Sunday #3!}
15. Getting caught in a really good book
16. Red lipstick
17. Refusing to compare myself with others
18. Talking to exciting people who are doing very cool things with their life
19. Planning flights home and family visits to San Francisco
20. Crossing things off my to-do list
21. Remembering what and who really matters
22. Feeling sore after a good trip to the gym
23. Inner peace
24. Looking back and seeing how far I’ve come
25. Wintermint gum
26. Believing and knowing that things are going to be okay

8 responses to “Thursday Thankful List

  1. Hey Andi,
    Yes, it is definitely ok to have days when you feel sad, emotional, or just plain “down in the dumps.” Sometimes the most important thing you can do in a day is just breathe. That, and pray for a better tomorrow.

    I love the following verses found in Colossians 1:11-12. Though I don’t usually read The Message version of the Bible, I really find this wording to be uplifting and encouraging. Reading these verses have given me strength and hope; I hope these verses bless you and bring you encouragement today!
    In Christ,
    Stacey

    We pray that you’ll have the strength to stick it out over the long haul—not the grim strength of gritting your teeth but the glory-strength God gives. It is strength that endures the unendurable and spills over into joy, thanking the Father who makes us strong enough to take part in everything bright and beautiful that he has for us. -Colossians 1:11-12 (The Message)

    • Stacey – Wow. That verse was absolutely incredible to read – and such a helpful “crown polish” as I move on today. Thank you, thank you, thank you for your encouragement and prayers. The verse in Psalms 34 sticks out to me: “The Lord is close to the broken-hearted, he is near those who are crushed in spirit.” It’s a wonderful joyful feeling to know that God is never, ever leaving my side regardless of the terrible things happening.

      Thank you again lovely friend! xx

  2. Hi Andi,

    Funny I was feeling that same way today!!
    YOU are an amazing women!!! I love your blog and have shared it with many friends!!
    You inspire me every day!!

    Thank you!
    Thank you!

    Julie

    • Julie – thank you for your very very kind words. Thank you for sharing my blog – and I’m glad it’s a source of help to you! :) Your comment has made my day much much better.
      -Andi

  3. Perhaps this might cheer you up: your blog is not just a pleasure to read it also had an impact of my life. You posted a picture saying”What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” and it really stuck with me! This is my mantra for the new year and I already lived it and changed a few things. It was not easy and it hurt but I know that these were the right decisions.
    So thanks for sharing!

    • Juliane – WOW. I am overwhelmed and completely flattered at your comment. Being able to inspire and encourage people to live out their potential is a passion of mine – and I am glad my blog has been a source of change for you. Scary things are…well, scary. Terrifying. But I promise this – bravery and courage are always rewarded – even if we can’t see it quite yet. What a perfect mantra to kick-off 2012! Thanks again xx!

  4. The first paragraph of this post means the world to me, as you know from our previous conversations. I really, truly look up to you and value your blog as a source of inspiration and encouragement.

    Can’t wait to chat with you this weekend! xo

Leave a Reply

