Defining Success: Part 3

I recently had the privilege of sharing several different definitions of success from people I look up to {read here and here}. Defining success is easier said than done though. I’ve learned that actually pinpointing what success ACTUALLY looks like to me is quite difficult. How I view success has changed drastically in the past year. Previously, I never really took much time to think about success – but viewed it in terms of accomplishments: getting XYZ job, doing XYZ, accomplishing XYZ. The weird part was this – during college, I thought that graduating college with a degree I wanted was successful, I thought getting a job was successful, I thought dating someone “just perfect” was successful. While these three things are certainly not bad, I’ve learned they don’t equate to success in my book anymore.

My views have completely shifted and I no longer think landing a dream job or having the perfect relationship equates to success. I’ve come to a point where I’ve seen people who “have everything” and are “successful” by the world’s standards; and then realize some of them are completely miserable. I’m done defining success based on items/experiences I check off a to-do list and instead view success based on who I am and who I strive to be day-to-day. Here are six factors that determine personal success for me – they are actually more of “life goals” the more I think about it:

1. To help other people discover and maximize their potential
2. To radiate unconditional love – to everyone, every day.
3. To live out God-given joy
4. To live with authentic integrity
5. To be surrounded (mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually) by people who encourage and challenge me
6. To be the best person I can be right where I’m at now.

It’s super easy to get caught up in the measuring my personal success by someone else’s standards and that is not right! When this happens, I need to remind myself what success looks like to me. What success looks like to me may be very different than what success looks like to my friends, family, strangers, coworkers, anyone. And that is perfectly okay.

A little tip: it’s much easier to remember what success looks like to you by not only writing it down – but putting it somewhere you see every day!

Happy Tuesday, thanks for reading! I’d love to hear how YOU define success! Leave me a comment or tweet me (@luckyandi)!

Leave a Reply

