With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair

polish my crownPolish My crownPolish My Crown And there will come a time,
you’ll see, with no more tears.
And love will not break your heart,
but dismiss your fears.
Get over your hill and see
what you find there,
With grace in your heart
and flowers in your hair.

Polish My CrownPolish My CrownPolish My Crown

The above lyrics are my favorite from the Mumford and Sons song After the Storm and the photos are from my lovely friend Lisa. Today’s post is a collaboration with Lisa to share photo inspiration for this song; to tell the song’s story through the photographer’s eye.

We all have those experiences where we feel completely helpless – whether it’s the loss of a loved one, the loneliness that sets in after an ended relationship, being a stranger in a brand new city. Today, I want to encourage you to rise above whatever you are going through; take a leap of faith and move forward – “get over your hill” as the song lyrics state.

For me, this song is a statement of hope. The words explain {and Lisa’s photos show} the journey of recognizing doubt, fear and darkness and then pressing forward to find peace in a place, literally or figuratively, where there are no more tears. It’s important to face these uphill battles by abandoning our fears and embracing grace and forgiveness.

This song is quite an inspiration to Lisa and myself and we want to hear what song inspires you! We’re hosting a giveaway to all Polish My Crown readers – all you have to do is comment on this post and tell us what song you go to for inspiration. Want an additional entry? Tweet us the song that inspires you. A sample tweet is here: “I’m inspired by the song ‘XXXXX’ Enter @luckyandi & @Lerbee’s photo giveaway: http://bit.ly/Hd90r6

One randomly selected winner will receive any 8×10″ print photo of their choice from Lisa’s portfolio {I have her photos all over my apartment and get compliments all the time!}

The winner will be selected on Saturday, April 7! Good luck and we’re so excited to hear your answers!
Find Lisa’s work on Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr and her portfolio.
5 responses to “With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair

  1. I go to the Dog Days are Over by Florence + the Machine. It reminds me how far I’ve come and that things are better than they were before! I always listen to it if I want a little bit of sunshine on a gloomy day

  2. Linann Teggart

    Mine would have to be “The Warrior is a Child” by Twila Paris. This is a great song when you have been up over the hill and start to feel a little weary from the journey.

  3. My song is “Dear Prudence” by the Beatles. “The sun is up, the sky is blue, it’s beautiful and so are you” That is the best line in the world. Whenever I’m having a rough day it pretty much smacks me in the face to remind me of everything that is good in life and to appreciate the beauty life brings.

  4. Pingback: Lovely links | Polish my Crown

  5. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

