One year ago today

One year ago today, I grew up a whole lot.

One year ago today, the date was April 5, 2011.

One year ago today, I woke up and all of my possessions were neatly packed in three suitcases.

One year ago today, my dad said goodbye to his oldest daughter and realized he couldn’t come pick me up whenever he wanted anymore.

One year ago today, my identity as a college student disappeared.

One year ago today, I left everyone and everything I knew behind.

One year ago today, I embraced change.

One year ago today, Katie and Hope gave me handwritten letters telling me how much they love me and how much they will miss me. I still have the notes.

One year ago today, my mom and I were wearing the same denim button down {styled in much different ways}.

One year ago today, my stomach hurt…a lot. In a nervous/excited kind of way.

One year ago today, I embarked on an adventure with absolutely no clear idea what was going to happen.

One year ago today, I ate breakfast with my mom and sisters at a favorite cafe on the way to the airport.

One year ago today, I stood near airport security avoiding the goodbye with mom and the girls.

One year ago today, I said goodbye and couldn’t look back to make eye contact with those I left behind on the other side of the security gate.

One year ago today, I approximately drank eight coffees in a 24-hour period. Maybe nine.

One year ago today, I began reading One Thousand Gifts: “The brave who focus on all things good and all things beautiful and all things true, even the small, who give thanks for it and discover joy even in the here and now, they are the change agent who bring fullest Light to all the world….”

One year ago today, and one layover later, I landed in California and met my blogger friend {and now real life friend!} Rayne at the airport.

One year ago today, I first saw the California sunset and the way the sky turns approximately sixteen shades of yellow, orange and pink all at once. The same sunset still amazes me.

One year ago today, I heard the advice that has now proved to be true: “Bravery and courage are always rewarded.”

One year ago, I went to bed at 11 pm {although it felt like 2 am to me}.

One year ago, I prayed thinking “What am I doing here?!?!??!”

One year ago today, a new chapter of life began.

polish my crown

April 5 marks a weird, exciting, crazy, scary, nerve-wracking, adventurous, thrilling, sad, happy and challenging day of my life. I said goodbye to my family and friends and moved across the country to a place I had never been without knowing anyone {except for blogging/Twitter friends}. It’s insane to me how quickly time flies, yet crawls on. I can’t believe I’ve been here for so long and yet it feels like I moved just yesterday! I’ve been a bit emotional and teary-eyed all week thinking about the entire change and the past twelve months of my life but out of my overwhelming emotions, I mostly feel thankfulness.

I’m thankful for this adventure. I’m thankful for each and every opportunity that’s come my way. I’m thankful that I learned my way around a new city and that people have showered me with kindness. I’m thankful that God has showered me with kindness. I’m thankful for the bus rides and train rides in the wrong direction. I’m thankful to live so close to the Pacific Ocean and for breathtaking views on a daily basis. I’m thankful for the people who have invested in my life both near and far. I’m thankful for an apartment that I love and God’s provision. I’m thankful to have a job doing things I’m interested in and working alongside people who are brilliant and inspiring. I’m thankful I’ve met new friends here and old friends have found jobs in San Francisco. I’m thankful that I’ve crossed almost every SF tourist activity off my to-do list. I’m thankful for Indian summers and a long holiday back in Ohio. I’m thankful that true friendship knows no distance and a family that loves me unconditionally. I’m thankful for bravery. I’m thankful for courage. I’m thankful that all of my steps have been preplanned according to a larger purpose. I’m thankful for the hard and lonely days, because each of the good days overpowers any bad. I’m thankful for everything that has happened between one year ago today and…today. I’m thankful I can sit here now and just say, wow. I’m thankful for right now.

 

2 responses to “One year ago today

  1. It’s hard to believe that a year has gone by so quickly. What an adventure you have had — now you seem like a long-time SF resident to me. Happy Anniversary.

    Love, Cath

  2. Pingback: Happy 2nd Birthday Polish My Crown! | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

