A Family’s Love {Guest Post by Diana}

Hi! Hope you had a wonderful long holiday weekend. I’m spending today at the lake lounging with my family before heading back to SF tomorrow night – this trip has been such a whirlwind! I’m excited to share Diana‘s guest blog post today; she talks about family and also includes a fun recipe for you to try! 

Thanks again Diana!

Throughout our lives we become a part of various families. Friends, relationships, college roommates and coworkers all become a unique group in our life that I can only equate with the term family. I naturally come from a large family, since both parents are one of four children.  Out of all the things that I’m grateful for it’s this family that I consider my most fortunate gift. It’s this group of love {and humor} that taught me what the word family truly means.

My mom’s side of the family has lived within 15 minutes of each other for the majority of my life. Even though I moved out of the suburbs and into Chicago last summer, this core is a dominant presence in my life.  Impromptu gatherings are never out of the ordinary and the viewing of a Sunday television show can become a mini feast/event.  It’s because of this presence in my life that I never feel alone, (as my sister and I experienced growing up, it also means there are eyes on you at all times). Even with everyone getting older, heading off to college, etc. we’ll never be the kind of family that waits until Thanksgiving to catch up.

I’m fortunate to have that same kind of love on my dad’s side. I don’t see them quite as often since they live in Wisconsin but their presence is always felt. I Skype regularly with my cousin, who now lives in Australia, and we can laugh for hours simply from our childhood memories. My time spent in Wisconsin is a special part of my life and to this day I can’t figure out how my grandma makes Eggo waffles taste so fantastic.

The one thing that I never lack on either side of the family is a good meal. My mom’s side of the family is Jewish, which means I grew up with the comfort of Matzoh ball soup and the overall motto that a gathering is not complete without a mishmosh of food.  Of course, a trip to Wisconsin is never complete without a full spread of ham, cheesy potatoes and homemade bread.  When I look at my life I find it to be no surprise that I have a passion for food. I’ve been taught my entire life to connect it with love.

 To share a piece of this love with all of you, I’m providing a recipe for my favorite banana cake. It doesn’t have an amazing back story of being passed down from generation to generation. It’s just  a recipe that I found in an old Jewish cookbook that I decided to bake one day on a whim. I started making it for family occasions and it quickly became a staple. It’s not garnished with anything fancy, just the simple addition of chocolate chips. With every bite I recall all of the little moments that make me so grateful for a family’s love.

Banana Cake recipe

Adapted from Portal to Good Cooking Vol. IV
1 ¼ cups sugar
½ cup + 2 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 eggs
1 cup mashed banana
¼ cup dairy sour cream
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups all- purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 cup semi- sweet chocolate chips

Cream sugar and butter. Add eggs, mashed bananas and sour cream. Mix until blended. Stir in vanilla. Combine flour and baking soda; add to banana mixture. Pour into greased round 9” circle cake pan. Sprinkle with chocolate chips. Bake at 350°F for 40- 45 minutes.

One response to “A Family’s Love {Guest Post by Diana}

  1. Touche. Great arguments. Keep up the great effort.

    Also visit my homepage … ginkgo biloba and tinnitus

Leave a Reply

