respecting yourself


I’m going to keep today’s Words for Wednesday short and sweet. Something that’s been on my heart and mind lately is self-respect. I have seen too many of my girlfriends fall down the slippery slope of compromising who they are and what they stand simply for another person. I’ve seen friends turn down opportunities they could only dream of or take on opportunities they didn’t want just because of someone else. It pains me to watch other people do this because I’ve done the same thing before. Quite too often, girls do things or say things not because they want to, but because someone else wants them to. Even more too often, girls blame themselves when something goes wrong in a relationship: “If only I did XYZ. If only I was XYZ….” The excuses continue!

I want to encourage you to respect yourself enough to make your OWN decisions – to live your life each and every day because you want to, not because another person is dictating who you are and what you do. I also hope you value, love and respect yourself enough to refuse to be treated as less than you are. Ever. Anyone who wants you to change who you are or who doesn’t treat you like the ultimate queen you are doesn’t deserve your time or energy! And those times when you are blaming yourself for everything? Those need to stop! Having self-respect means you carry yourself with dignity and integrity – knowing exactly who you are, what you want and refusing to let anyone treat you as anything but.

In this post I shared a Barbara DeAngelis quote worth repeating: “Living with integrity means: Not setting for less than what you know you deserve. Asking for what you want and need from others. Speaking your truth, even though it might create conflict or tension. Behaving in ways that are in harmony with your personal values. Making choices based on what you believe, not just what others believe.”

Today, speak your truth. Today, make choices for you – not for anyone else. Today, know you are special, wonderful and valuable and don’t need to apologize for being exactly who you are! Today, cloth yourself in self-respect. xx!
polish my crown

One response to “respecting yourself

  1. Andi – A friend of mine just sent me your website and I can’t stop reading it! Thank you so much for this Wednesday’s post – Ive been needing to hear that for a quite a while regarding a friendship I’m in

    So thank you for your inspirational words – they make a difference :)

Leave a Reply

