Lesson #13

The woman had wished she had never been born. She had lived for more than half of a century and her life had never been happy.

I wondered how she measured happiness.

Hadn’t she ever seen a glorious sunset spread across the horizon? How about the hundreds of stars against a black sky? Had she never been kissed passionately? Did she never ride a bike down a hill with the wind blowing through her hair? Or wade in a creek and squish the mud between her toes? Had she never made an angel in the snow, read a great novel, won at gin rummy?

Did she measure happiness in moments or in years?

…We’d be miserable if we were happy all the time. It would be like having a perpetual summer. We’d get bored with sunshine and blue skies every day of the year. That’s why I love Ohio. We get the great mix of thunderstorms, blizzards, heat waves, autumn leaves and snowball fights.

No one has an ideal life. But if everyone could throw their lives into a pile and trade, most people would grab their own back. I’d grab mine, with all its hurts and fears and desperate moments. I wouldn’t want any less.

….Life circumstances account for 10 percent of happiness. That’s it? Yep. Genetics make up 50 percent. The rest? It’s all up to you? What if you gave that 40 percent 100 percent?

Look at how you currently view your life. Examine your current perspective then choose a new way to see your life. Decide what you don’t want and what you do want.

Every morning look in the mirror and affirm the miracle that you are right now, as is, then step into your day and watch what happens.

I’m currently reading Be the Miracle: 50 Lessons for Making the Impossible Possible by Regina Brett and just loved reading the Lesson #13 last night. Above are a few favorite portions from the quick chapter – which shares the lesson of “giving birth to yourself every day.” LOVE {especially the Ohio part!}. It reminds me why I write Thursday Thankful List posts; to document the goodness in the every day moments. Hope you enjoy as much as I do!

5 responses to “Lesson #13

  1. Thanks so much for posting this! I started reading this in the preview from Amazon and now I have to read the whole thing. Honestly, it’s already changed my view on a lot of things. I’m from Northeast Ohio, so it’s neat to read. I actually love Ohio and get happy when other people appreciate this state, too.

    • Hi Alison – thanks for your comment! You DEF need to get the book — I borrowed from the lib but i’m also buying a copy to keep :) I love that the author is from OH just like us!

  2. Pingback: lesson 15 – part 1 | Polish my Crown

  3. Pingback: What gives me hope, part 1 | Polish my Crown

  4. Pingback: Polish My Crown Reading List | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

