Thursday Thankful List

You say grace before meals. All right. But I say grace before the concert and the opera, and grace before the play and pantomime, and grace before I open a book, and grace before sketching, painting, swimming, fencing, boxing, walking, playing, dancing and grace before I dip the pen in the ink.” — G. K. Chesterton

I just love the quote above. Saying grace – expressing gratitude and asking for continued blessings- is something so routinely done before eating a meal. If we so easily get in the habit of saying grace before eating, shouldn’t we be able to say grace before {or after} anything? This weekend, I want to be in a constant state of saying grace. I all too often view life as though it’s an emergency – that I need to be go, go, go and always in a hurry. Slowing down, slowly enjoying the moment I’m in, slowly counting each and every blessing – saying grace is what I’m striving for. Here’s a few things I’m thankful for – or saying grace for – today!

Songs on repeat
Poached eggs for dinner {yep, Wednesday}
The smell of freshly brewed coffee
The first five seconds after you jump into a pool
Finally meeting someone you’ve been looking forward to for awhile
Sleeping through the entire night
Visitors!!
Text conversations with Santi
Getting lost in a good book
Doodling
Braids in my hair
Any and every time I get to talk to my sisters
Telling someone you love them
Hearing someone say they love you
Choosing to be brave
Sushi {in the past week I’ve had it three times…}
Going to bed knowing there’s not a set time you need to wake up
Birthday celebrations
Catching up with a good friend on the phone
Simplicity
Wearing an outfit {preferably dress} that you are obsessed with!
Fresh peaches
Writing down how I feel at the beginning and end of the day
Swinging on monkey bars at the park
Hot bubble baths
Cold showers
Positive Thursday
Thank you notes
Laughing out loud
Naps on the beach
Exploring
Big hugs
Putting on cozy pajamas at the end of a long day
Blooming peonies my desk

Leave a Reply

