Life is too short to be busy

Almost everyone I know is busy. They feel anxious and guilty when they aren’t either working or doing something to promote their work. They schedule in time with friends the way students with 4.0 G.P.A.’s  make sure to sign up for community service because it looks good on their college applications.

Busyness serves as a kind of existential reassurance, a hedge against emptiness; obviously your life cannot possibly be silly or trivial or meaningless if you are so busy, completely booked, in demand every hour of the day.

….Idleness is not just a vacation, an indulgence or a vice; it is as indispensable to the brain as vitamin D is to the body, and deprived of it we suffer a mental affliction as disfiguring as rickets. The space and quiet that idleness provides is a necessary condition for standing back from life and seeing it whole, for making unexpected connections and waiting for the wild summer lightning strikes of inspiration — it is, paradoxically, necessary to getting any work done. “Idle dreaming is often of the essence of what we do,” wrote Thomas Pynchon in his essay on sloth.

…but I did make a conscious decision, a long time ago, to choose time over money, since I’ve always understood that the best investment of my limited time on earth was to spend it with people I love. I suppose it’s possible I’ll lie on my deathbed regretting that I didn’t work harder and say everything I had to say, but I think what I’ll really wish is that I could have one more beer with Chris, another long talk with Megan, one last good hard laugh with Boyd. Life is too short to be busy.

Yesterday I read a fascinating piece in the New York Times titled The ‘Busy’ Trap by Tim Kreider. The above is a quick snippet of the article where the author discusses why people crave busyness. He then argues the value of time and ‘doing nothing’; taking a step away from the hustle of our lives to simply live. To enjoy. To savor. I definitely recommend reading the entire piece and rethinking the way you look at your time and your life. Enjoy!

Similar articles: Balance Among Other Things and Turn Off Your Phone 

ps: happy happy happy birthday to my wonderful dad! xx

One response to “Life is too short to be busy

  1. Pingback: Slowing Down for Summer « here's to life

Leave a Reply

