June/July Resolutions

1. APPRECIATE ART: I want to spend more time enjoying art. One of the perks of living in a big city is that there are tons of art galleries and museums and I need to take advantage of it! I definitely am trying to learn more about art and in turn, appreciate it more!

2. SHOW LOVE: It’s so easy to show love to people who we are in tight-knit relationships with. I have no problem loving my parents, sisters, friends and people I’m surrounded with every day. Something I need to work on is showing love to absolutely everyone I encounter. I shared in this blog post “…it’s important to look at love from a larger scale. We are called to love e-v-e-r-y-o-n-e. That’s right, the bus driver. Your coworkers. Your neighbors. That person from high school who annoys you like no other. The person you pass by in the park…You can love someone {and everyone} you meet by choosing to be patient, kind, forgiving, encouraging, humble, hospitable, caring, compassionate and respectful.” That’s a big resolution this month {and always}

3. LEARN TO BRAID: It’s ridiculous that I grew up in a family of four girls and did cheerleading for six years and STILL can’t braid! I usually half-attempt twist things that just look awkward. Learning to braid is on my to-do list this month, even if that means spending hours watching YouTube videos to figure it out. I just love this fishtail braid my friend Holly did last time I visited home!

4. LAUGH MORE OFTEN: How many times each day do you laugh? I get nervous sometimes that I’ll go a day without laughing – which would just be…not okay. A really good laugh is like a cure – I automatically feel refreshed and rejuvenated after a hilarious moment. Striving to laugh more often also forces me to “lighten up” a bit and stop being so uptight and worried about pointless things.

5. TAKE A 30 MINUTE WALK EVERY DAY: Swimming is my workout of choice, but I want to add in a morning or evening walk to my weekday routine too. It’s a great way to appreciate and enjoy where I live and “wind down” from whatever may be going on that day. Plus, when you add in a good friend for a great conversation, it makes it even better!

6. LISTEN MORE: As a naturally loud and outgoing person, I usually don’t have any problem speaking up in any given situation. I’m learning {slowly} the value of listening more than speaking – and engaging in conversations by listening well. It’s one thing to hear what someone says, but it’s another to truly pay attention and take in what they’re saying. I want to be a good listener – to others, to myself, to the world around me.

7. READ THREE BOOKS: Living in the digital age we do, I often find myself staring at a computer or phone screen most of the day. I’ve always loved reading so lately I’ve been consciously carving time out of my day {usually with a cup of tea before bed} to read. Right now I’m reading Lucky by Alice Sebold and Be the Miracle: 50 Lessons for Making the Impossible Possible by Regina Brett {still}! If you have any good book recommendations, send my way please!8. FIND “WHAT MAKES MY HEART SING”: This is something my mom always asks me when I’m in funk or just feeling out of sorts thinking about where I’m at in life. She asks me directly, “What makes your heart sing?” This means – what do I feel like I’m called to do? What makes me happier than anything else? What is my purpose? What makes me feel alive? I’m not able to completely pinpoint the answer to the question yet, but it’s something I’ve been thinking and praying about a lot lately! I think figuring out what makes my heart sing isn’t going to just magically come to me, but instead will be a gradual process of figuring it out.

9. STRETCH: Self-explanatory…I need to do this more!

Thanks for reading! Do you have any resolutions this month? You can find more monthly resolutions right here. xx!

3 responses to “June/July Resolutions

  1. melissa @ 53blonde

    I love that you continue to share you goals. I think it makes it easier to stick to them when you have to be more accountable – and I’m totally going to steal this and do the same!

    I hope you get your letter from me soon! Love and miss you xo!!

    • Thanks Melissa! A list of the monthly resolutions is hanging by my door as a constant reminder – can’t wait to read your post too! xx

  2. I’ve been trying to get up 30 minutes earlier for a morning walk/jog. Don’t love getting out of bed….but love the summer mornings.

Leave a Reply

