5 Must Reads

Happy Tuesday! This past weekend, I began the terrifying task of organizing my folders and files on my computer. One thing I’m also going through is my Google Tasks, where I quickly post articles, quotes, songs, recipes – literally anything I want to read for another time. I found a ton of good articles that I’ve forgotten about from the past year and thought I would share five of my new and old favorites. Enjoy!

The Lesson of Failure
Emily Bennington, Blog

When the failure is yours, it huuuuurts. Deep. Bad. Still, I have to take my own advice here and recognize that failure isn’t final. It’s a test – and the difference between those who pass and those who don’t is who gets up and who doesn’t. So while every cell in my body wishes things would have gone differently, this is the part where I have to recognize that I can’t change what happened. I can only learn from it and do better next time. Yes, I’m devastated. (Believe me, this will take a while to get over.) But I’m not going to use a moment of failure as an excuse to play safe or small from now on. Instead, I’m replacing those self-defeating questions with a simple statement: “Thank you for this lesson.”

On How to Find Work That You Love
Clayton Christenson, Fast Company

True motivation is getting people to do something because they want to do it, in good times and in bad…This means that it’s possible, for example, to both love your job and hate it all at the same time…The point isn’t that money is the root cause of professional unhappiness. It’s not. The problems start occurring when it becomes the priority over all else, when you’ve satisfied the hygiene factors but the quest remains only to make more money. Herzberg’s theory of motivation suggests you need to ask yourself a different set of questions: Is this work meaningful to me? Will I have an opportunity for recognition and achievement? Am I going to learn new things?

What I Know About Beauty Now That I’m in my 20s
Kate Fridkis, Huffington Post

Stop tweaking. Tweaking is my term for the little mental adjustments we make about our appearances. If my waist was a little narrower… If my eyes were a little bigger… If my jaw line was more defined and my skin a tiny bit clearer and my lips slightly fuller and my ankles had more of a taper and my nose was just a hint shorter and if maybe I could just have some cheekbones? I can tweak all day long. I know how everything about my appearance can be improved. Seriously — call out a body part, and I’ll tell you how it needs to change, just a little, so I can look better. When I realized how much I tweak, I started trying something new. When I look in the mirror now, I observe something good about myself. Nice ears! Could they be improved? It doesn’t matter. They’re nice the way they are.

Moments Everyone Needs More of in Their Lives
Ryan O’Connell, Thought Catalog

You need to be genuinely surprised by someone’s kindness. It could be anyone — your mother, your friend, a stranger. Just someone who comes around and restores your faith in mankind. The gesture can be small (someone picks up a $20 bill that accidentally fell out of your pocket and gives it to you) or it can be much larger (a care package, a surprise birthday party). It can be anything that makes you feel acknowledged and protected. You are on this planet with billions of people and a handful of them are actually looking out for you. Sleep easy tonight.

Kathryn Schulz on the Psychology of Regret and How To Live With It
Maria Popova, Brain Pickings

If we have goals and dreams and we want to do our best, and if we love people and we don’t want to hurt them or lose them, we should feel pain when things go wrong. The point isn’t to live without any regrets, the point is to not hate ourselves for having them… We need to learn to love the flawed, imperfect things that we create, and to forgive ourselves for creating them. Regret doesn’t remind us that we did badly — it reminds us that we know we can do better.

One response to “5 Must Reads

  1. Meghan Bribiesca

    Sorry, but I’ve lost you, you are still counting?And where can you sign up for what?

Leave a Reply

