I Am From, Part 3

I am from hilarious text message conversations with Kerry, Katie and Hope

I am from second chances, third chances, fourth chances

I am from big smiles and big laughs and big hearts

I am from “Thank you for sharing your life with us” and “You mean the world to us” and “We’re so proud of you” words from my grandpa

I am from Ariel and Belle and Jasmine and Cinderella

I am from Corona Heights trails and rocks high in the sky and a view that stretches for miles

I am from freedom and spontaneity and possibility

I am from women who aren’t afraid to work hard and get their hands dirty

I am from fists full of dandelions

I am family dinners around the dining room table, dogs at our feet, favorite people in front of me

I am from blowing bubbles on the porch

I am from every book I’ve read and a new world opened up with each page

I am from matching velvet Christmas dresses and big bows in our hair

I am from childhood devastation when Nikita was hit by a car and pain I hadn’t felt before

I am from a God who mends, renews, restores, saves, transforms

I am from a city too pretty to not snap photos of

I am from Marco Polo and hold your breath contests and diving sticks and hours playing in the pool

I am from “there’s no place like home.”

I am from radical grace.

I am from proud big sister moments

I am from feeling really small, from a much-needed sense of perspective

I am from Thursday Thankful Lists and counting my blessings on a daily basis

I am from the sunshine and brick-lined streets of Athens and four years of college that just can’t be topped

I am from birthday picnics in the park

I am from exactly 2,369.1 miles that stretch from San Francisco, California to Bowling Green, Ohio

I am from packing up and going, from starting afresh

I am from “you belong among the wildflowers, you belong somewhere close to me. far away from your troubles and worries, you belong somewhere you feel free.”

I am from childhood innocence

I am from hayrides down the lane, from wading in the creek, from hide-and-go-seek in the orchard

I am from love and joy and peace and patience and kindness and goodness.

It’s really important for me to take a step back from life and think about who I am and where I’m from. It allows me to press the “refresh” button and get out of any funk I may be in to focus on truth – to focus on the the bits and pieces that bring my life together as a whole. This was just a quick list I wrote down to remind myself of the people, places and experiences {both ups and downs!} that make up my ridiculous, happy, sometimes sad, magnificent, confusing and crazy life.

Where are you from?

More here: I Am From Part 1 and Part 2.

 

Leave a Reply

