How-To: Flower Crown

I am someone who apparently takes the “If you’re going to San Francisco, be sure to wear a flower in your hair…” lyrics seriously. I’ve always enjoyed big bright flowers in my hair and just had to try out a flower crown DIY project. After skimming through this DIY and also this one, I decided to bite the bullet and spend a weekday night crafting.

Here’s the how-to for the first headband I made which I ended up wearing to Outside Lands music festival. It was super easy and I received a ton of compliments {minus the people who had to stand behind me} on the crazy headband/crown. I’ll post another DIY to the second {right} headband in the near future.

Time: 5-10 minutes

Supplies:

  • Hardshell headband {mine was just a basic brown one from Walgreens}
  • Hot glue gun
  • Artificial flowers – select flower size depending on how subtle or outlandish you’re aiming for
  • Small artificial leaves
How-To:
  • Step 1: Select your flower size and how many blooms {an odd number} you want on the headband or crown; I selected five
  • Step 2: Pull the selected flowers from their plastic stems and cut the green plastic piece off the back of each bloom
  • Step 3: Start with the center of the headband and glue the first flower bloom down; continue gluing the other blooms to the sides of the center bloom
  • Step 4: Glue small leaves in between the large blooms to cover up any headband shell pieces
  • Step 5: Try headband on and adjust any blooms/leaves that are out of place
  • Step 6: Put on an adorable outfit and go!
Here’s two photos of the finished product! xx


One response to “How-To: Flower Crown

  1. Pingback: flower crowns are my fave. | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

