how to live well

We made it to Wednesday! That means the weekend countdown starts…now. I’m always on the lookout for inspiration, advice and ideas on how to live my life in the absolute best way possible. It’s a simple thing, really. I’m interested to find out what it means to live well – and then actively do just that. Here’s a few favorite quotes and bits of advice that piece together what it means for me to live a full, happy and wonderful life – to live well.

Loving well, stepping over hurt, laying aside self and desires, draws on more of our interior resources than investing in a career, a skill, a personal pursuit. And yet, there are no promotions. No public status. No guarantees.Relationships grow only in the soil of humility, selflessness, open-handedness. Relationships are inherently risky: for all that, you can’t control the outcome. –Ann Volskamp

The saddest people I’ve ever met in life are the ones who don’t care deeply about anything at all. Passion and satisfaction go hand in hand, and without them, any happiness is only temporary, because there’s nothing to make it last. -Nicholas Sparks

If it scares you, it might be a good thing to try. -Seth Godin

Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary. -Cecil Beaton

What are you going to do? Everything, is my guess. It will be a little messy, but embrace the mess. It will be complicated, but rejoice in the complications. It will not be anything like what you think it will be like, but surprises are good for you. And don’t be frightened: you can always change your mind. -Nora Ephron

It’s not hard to decide what you want your life to be about.  What’s hard is figuring out what you are willing to give up in order to do the things you really care about. -Shauna Niequist

Embrace relational uncertainty. It’s called romance. Embrace spiritual uncertainty. It’s called mystery. Embrace occupational uncertainty. It’s called destiny. Embrace emotional uncertainty. It’s called joy. Embrace intellectual uncertainty. It’s called revelation. -Mark Batterson

How do you live well?

2 responses to “how to live well

  1. I find that I do my best living while I’m “wasting time” with my friends and family. I’ve finally (almost) fully reached the point where I’m not as concerned about what I’m missing out on — like parties, crazy nights out — and would rather just spend time with those who matter most.

    • Sarah – I totally agree! The simple times where we just sit around and chat and laugh mean so much more to me than going out and partying etc etc. Hope you are well girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

