But I know who you are.

I recently discover JJ Heller‘s pre-released track Who You Are and have played on repeat several times over the last couple of weeks. The song is an excellent reminder that sometimes there life is really, really hard and really, really unfair. Sometimes there are no answers to the questions we have and sometimes bad things happen to good people. I look back on quite a few times in life where I felt completely stuck, shocked, hurt and had zero clue why this or that had happened to me. The words to the song reminded me to say a special prayer for those in that situation now asking that they find peace and comfort in trusting that God is bigger than our wildest, hardest problems. I’ve seen first-hard His transformative power and love wash my pain ad hurts and questions away.

You can listen to the song here.

All she wanted was a baby to hold
She’s still waiting at 41 years old
Her life feels like a tragedy
And it’s driving her down to her knees

She says, “I don’t know
I don’t know what you’re doing
But I know who you are.”

It was after midnight
When he answered the phone
The doctor said his daughter
Was never coming home
Sometimes life doesn’t make any sense
Full of war and pain and accidents

He’s praying, “I don’t know
I don’t know what you’re doing
But I know who you are.”

You have a father’s heart
And a love that’s wild
And you know what it’s like
Yeah, you know what it’s like
What it’s like to lose a child.

Sometimes I don’t know
I don’t know what you’re doing
I don’t know, I don’t know
Sometimes I don’t know
I don’t know what what you’re doing
But I know who you are.

Who You Are

Leave a Reply

