Are you busy?

DUH. I can take a lucky guess that many of you would answer the “are you busy?” question with: yes, of course, obviously, DUH. Have you ever thought about what you actually fill those 168 hours each week that makes you so busy? Why is everyone so obsessed with being busy? I loved reading this Wall Street Journal article that explored busyness and how to take control of your own time. It all starts with being aware of what you’re spending time on.

The article also reminded me of this fantastic reminder: “Great minutes make great hours…and those make great days. When it’s all said and done, that’s what makes a great life. You are soo worthy of a great life. Love your minutes.” 

If you’re looking for an awesome Tuesday read {or any day really} that will challenge you to re-think how you spend your precious hours and minutes, read this one.

Instead of saying “I don’t have time” try saying “it’s not a priority,” and see how that feels. Often, that’s a perfectly adequate explanation. I have time to iron my sheets, I just don’t want to. But other things are harder. Try it: “I’m not going to edit your résumé, sweetie, because it’s not a priority.” “I don’t go to the doctor because my health is not a priority.” If these phrases don’t sit well, that’s the point.

Changing our language reminds us that time is a choice. If we don’t like how we’re spending an hour, we can choose differently.

What you do today is important

2 responses to “Are you busy?

  1. Why, yes. I am busy!

  2. Pingback: Thursday Thankful List: Slow Down | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

