Friday Five: Inspiring, Interesting + Awesome Friends

Friday! Friday! Friday! I could almost jump for joy every single Friday. Almost. I haven’t shared a Friday Five blog post in way too long, and thought I’d take a fun, different angle for today’s post. I’ve been thinking about people I’ve known for awhile and people I’ve recently met and how each person contributes to my own life story. I’m so thankful for the insanely supportive and wonderful people I have in my life – both the ones I’ve known for years and the ones I met a year or even week ago. I want to highlight and tell you about five special friends who I think are interesting, inspiring and just plain awesome today. The opportunity to get to know of of these people and soak up the goodness and wonderfulness they bring to the world has been a very special privilege of mine. Each is very different and I’ve gotten to know each in very different ways for different reasons but I’m inspired by the paths they are taking individually in life – and thankful their path intertwines with mine even just a little bit!

Have a great weekend.

1. Michele Janezic 

I recently had the privilege of meeting Michele through a work partnership and after spending a day with her, immediately categorized her in the “my kind of people” group. I was inspired by our entire conversation – she truly radiates light, optimism and sense of wonder. In addition to her day job as a buyer at an adorable San Francisco boutique, she designs her own Janezic collection. Her clothing is a mix of boho and classic, vintage-inspired and simple. She also had me convinced that I need one of her a-mazing jumpsuits! She’s also a pretty popular Instagrammer — check out her beautiful photos and the beautiful quotes with each that she shares.

Michele Janezic

2. Marky Dally – Balloon Messenger

I’ve known Marky since I was in sixth grade and he reminds me that friendship knows no distance. Last time I was home, we were able to spend a lot of time together and I am so thankful for our insightful and inspiring conversations. He’s such an amazing person and so talented at writing, playing and performing music. Check out his music on Facebook or listen on Bandcamp – I think you’ll really enjoy! My favorites are Day Glo and Everybody Wants to Rule the World.

Photo via Suzy Dally Photography

Mark Dally

3. Amy Seiffert

I’ve known Amy and her family since I was going to high school from church and she’s always been someone I’ve looked up to. To be honest, I’m simply inspired by the way she lives her day-to-day life. She is full of joy and purpose in everything she does – from wearing one dress for six months for The Daughter Project to raising her children in the best way possible. I’m not the only one who thinks she is a gem — when I was home for the holidays, at least five people talked to me about how awesome Amy is. The goodness she sprinkles throughout her life and anyone’s that she mets is truly contagious – she is definitely someone I “want to be like when I grow up.” That’s still allowed, right?! Check out her blog here.

Amy Seiffert

4. Joey Mucha – Joey the Cat Skeeball Rentals

Joey is one of the most enthusiastic people that I know. I’m thankful that I not only met him at a ridiculous Beyonce scavenger hunt, but that I consider him one of my good friends now. In addition to his day job, he’s an entrepreneur and runs his own Skeeball business. It all started because he loved playing Skeeball competitively and knew he could only get better if he owned his own. After buying his first machine on eBay and putting it in his apartment, he began listing his “skeeball machine and couch” on Airbnb. The CEO of Airbnb loved the listing, stayed at Joey’s apartment and asked him to rent out a Skeeball machine for an Airbnb party. The rest is history really – Joey has ten Skeeball machines scattered at different venues throughout San Francisco. Quite the interesting and inspirational story, if you ask me!

Joey Mucha

5. Allie Trowbridge

I met Allie about a year and a half ago and think the absolute world of her. She is someone who truly radiates light to everyone she meets and one person who I am so very glad I met right when I moved here. She is the VP of Strategic Partnerships for Not for Sale and has been working with the organization since they started. What impresses me the most about Allie is that despite getting to meet some insanely cool people and working for an organization that is truly changing lives, she is one of the most humble people I’ve ever met. She also co-wrote a book this past summer titled Godspeed – it’s on my reading list! Allie Follow her on Twitter here.

Allie Trowbridge

Leave a Reply

