How to Have a "Me Day"

I have to be honest with you – I am the queen of taking “Andi days.” I find it extremely uplifting and inspiring to spend a complete day {or even a couple hours} completely by myself. I’ve learned how valuable it is to give myself self-care – I feel much less stressed and much more happy when I carve out time to enjoy my own company. I also feel like I’m a better friend when I take time for myself – I’m more patient, I am up to do crazy, spontaneous things more often, I feel rested and rejuvenated.

This quote stuck by C. Joybell C. stuck out to me and reminded me how powerful spending time alone is: “The only person who can pull me down is myself, and I’m not going to let myself pull me down anymore.” We all have the unique and beautiful power to take time for ourselves, to step back from our typical routine and focus on ourselves even for a few hours.

Audrey Hepburn also has the right idea: “I have to be alone very often. I’d be quite happy if I spent from Saturday night until Monday morning  alone in my apartment. That’s how I refuel.” Amen, sista.

Today, I want to encourage you to find time to spend alone sometime in the near future. I think you’ll find the experience to be rewarding, relaxing and simply awesome. Here’s my advice on how to have a “me day”:

  • first things first, plan out your “me day” – and don’t feel guilty about it. put it in your schedule. i will always, always, always have things to do – and i’ve learned it’s my responsibility to set up the specific day and time that i can truly be alone
  • wake up in the morning but but stay in bed. no need to rush. enjoy the quiet and sweet
  • stretch! i prefer 10 or so minutes of yoga in complete silence
  • enjoy hot coffee or tea in bed and pull out your journal. i prefer to journal every morning, but find it especially valuable on my days spent alone. i like to write down things i’m thankful for and things that bring me joy.
  • do something silly and out of the ordinary. a few examples: finger paint, dance in your pajamas, break into spontaneous cartwheels in the yard, sing in the shower, go down the slide at the park. do anything that makes you feel like a child again.
  • take a walk. soak up the beauty and quiet and peace — be on the lookout for things that are always around you that you might not typically take the time to enjoy {the pink and purple blossoms on the trees, the bright blue sky full of fluffy clouds, the squeal of laughter from the little girl swinging in the park…}
  • stay away from your computer and cell phone.
  • treat yourself! whether it’s getting your nails done, buying yourself a new piece of jewelry or just splurging on an XL caramel macchiato at your favorite coffee shop, make sure to do something that is out of the ordinary on your day alone
  • pray/meditate. “me days” are a wonderful time to reflect – and spend more time doing this than a typical day.
  • get some quality reading in. do you have a book you’ve started but haven’t quite finished? today’s the day!
  • DON’T check things off your to-do list — obligations and responsibilities can wait. try the best you can to focus on you, your mind, you
  • enjoy a comforting meal – with or without your good book. my go-to for “andi days” is sushi {not at all surprising if you know me at all.}
  • bubble bath!!! enough said. preferably with candles, though.

How to have a me day

Leave a Reply

