how to make the most of your weekend!

How was your weekend? Maybe it’s because I haven’t actually been in San Francisco much lately to enjoy it so I jumped on the opportunity to enjoy this past weekend to the absolute fullest. I wanted to share my advice and recommendation on how to make the most of your weekend {there’s only 72 hours until the next one!}. Here’s ten things that I think will significantly affect your precious Saturday and Sunday minutes. Enjoy!

1. Turn off your email.
Did you know with one swipe/click of a button you can turn off those emails and come back to them late Sunday night or better yet – Monday morning! Your Inbox will always be waiting for you; don’t make a habit of spending your 48 weekend hours checking on work.

2. Wake up early.
The absolute easiest and best way to make the most of your weekend is to start it as soon as possible! I was up by 7:30am both Saturday and Sunday this past weekend and it was glorious! By the time noon rolled around, I felt like I had already done so much {breakfast, visiting Hayes Valley on Saturday, hiking and church on Sunday}. I love that feeling!

3. Play – and get in the habit of it.
It’s okay to act like a little kid! For me, that meant swinging on this rope swing again and laughing at the top of my lungs. Weekends are meant to be lighthearted – don’t take yourself so seriously.
Screen shot 2013-03-26 at 7.27.57 AM
4. Explore!
Plain and simple: go somewhere new. This can be within your own city or taking an impromptu trip out of town. You won’t be sorry either way. I love the way Jon Krakauer puts it in Into the Wild: “the very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. the joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences.”

5. Eat as healthy as possible.
People often use their weekend as “cheat time” away from their weekday diets – don’t be one of them! The more fresh foods you eat, the better you’ll feel. Of course, treating yourself is always necessary but make sure to incorporate veggies and fruits into your weekday meals too.

6. Spend time with friends.
I’m talking about the ones you love and the ones who love you. The ones who make you laugh and the ones you can call when you need a good cry. The “I’m up for anything!” friends and the “I would drop anything for you” friends.
Screen shot 2013-03-26 at 7.28.07 AM
7. Embrace alone time.
As hand-in-hand time with friends and weekends go, it’s also vital to take some time to be alone. Even if it’s a thirty minute walk around the neighborhood or fifteen minutes journaling right when you wake up. I can’t emphasize enough how wonderful it is to be at one with your thoughts and with yourself – and weekends are a perfect time to clear your head and enjoy “me time.”

8. Keep plans loose – go with the flow.
Quit planning and mapping out every single thing you want to do this weekend. Enjoy the spontaneousness of Saturdays and Sundays.

9. Be on the lookout for the small.
That quietness in the mornings when you can only hear birds singing, the blossoming trees lining the streets, the laughing toddler, saying hello as you pass them on the sidewalk, the opportunity to walk instead of drive or take public transportation, the wet grass after an afternoon rain, opening a lid on a new container, being wide awake, building sand castles, the orange and pink and purple and yellow sunset that sets later than usual this time of year. When was the last time you noticed these things?

10. Slow down.
“In our rushing, bulls in china shops, we break our own lives.” There will always be enough time to get things done. Quit rushing around and moving at a mile per minute. Walk slow, breathe deep, live big.
Screen shot 2013-03-26 at 7.28.17 AM

4 responses to “how to make the most of your weekend!

  1. These are all great tips, Andi! My biggest area to work on is #2; it’s so true that my weekend can yield a lot more fun if I just get up 2-3 hours earlier than normal.

  2. #2 and #8 are SO TRUE! I love it when I hit sack relatively early and wake up early enough to get the day started off right — sans hangover!

    As far as #8 goes…I was so much better about that one in college. I constantly work on that, but I’ve made dramatic improvements.

    As always, thanks for sharing your unique perspective on life. I love living vicariously through you. =]

  3. Pingback: Lovely Links | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

