Two Years Ago Today

Two years ago, April 5, 2011 marks the day I zipped up my suitcases, drove to the airport and moved across the country. I had never been to San Francisco, yet alone California, yet alone anywhere west of Arkansas. I didn’t know anyone. It’s hard to believe that one can shift into adulthood within the period of one day. April 5, 2011 was exciting, scary, sad, happy, adventurous, awkward, challenging and good. I’ve been pretty teary-eyed this week and today especially just thinking about the past 730 days. While the past two years have had their fair share of drama, ups and downs and difficulties, I am overwhelmed with gratitude looking back.

I’m thankful that this life adventure is mine, and mine alone. I’m thankful for long trips back to Ohio, for family and friends that have visited me in San Francisco, for the three trips to Athens I’ve made in the past two years. I’m thankful for the opportunity to visit Paris and Barcelona and Marrakech all within the past couple of months. I’m thankful that three of my very best friends also found jobs here and made the leap across the country – life feels so much more at home with them here. I’m thankful for days enjoyed at the beach and days enjoyed in snowy Tahoe. I’m thankful for “I know the plans I have for you…plans to prosper you and not harm you, plan to give you a hope and a future.” I’m thankful to work alongside brilliant and inspiring people who challenge me on a daily basis. I’m thankful for the people who have graciously and kindly welcomed into their world as a friend and family member. I’m thankful for San Francisco’s quirkiness, breathtaking views and bits of inspiration on each corner.  I’m thankful I have four sisters and a dad and a mom and a grandpa that LOVE to text me. I’m thankful for hard and lonely and sad days – and for the extra good days that overpower each bad one. I’m thankful for bravery a great big God who knows no limits to his love, protection and grace. I’m thankful for the opportunity to share my life story with you on my little piece of the Internet over the past two years.

IMG_1224

I think last year’s blog post sums up how I’m feeling quite perfectly. I’ve changed everything from “one year ago today” to “two years ago today” to reflect the update.

Two years ago today, I grew up a whole lot.

Two years ago today, the date was April 5, 2011.

Two years ago today, I woke up and all of my possessions were neatly packed in three suitcases.

Two years ago today, my dad said goodbye to his oldest daughter and realized he couldn’t come pick me up whenever he wanted anymore.

Two years ago today, my identity as a college student disappeared.

Two years ago today, I left everyone and everything I knew behind.

Two years ago today, I embraced change.

Two years ago today, Katie and Hope gave me handwritten letters telling me how much they love me and how much they will miss me. I still have the notes.

Two years ago today, my mom and I were wearing the same denim button down {styled in much different ways}.

Two years ago today, my stomach hurt…a lot. In a nervous/excited kind of way.

Two years ago today, I embarked on an adventure with absolutely no clear idea what was going to happen.

Two years ago today, I ate breakfast with my mom and sisters at a favorite cafe on the way to the airport.

Two years ago today, I stood near airport security avoiding the goodbye with mom and the girls.

Two years ago today, I said goodbye and couldn’t look back to make eye contact with those I left behind on the other side of the security gate.

Two years ago today, I approximately drank eight coffees in a 24-hour period. Maybe nine.

Two years ago today, I began reading One Thousand Gifts: “The brave who focus on all things good and all things beautiful and all things true, even the small, who give thanks for it and discover joy even in the here and now, they are the change agent who bring fullest Light to all the world….”

Two years ago today, and one layover later, I landed in California and met my blogger friend {and now real life friend!} Rayne at the airport.

Two years ago today, I first saw the California sunset and the way the sky turns approximately sixteen shades of yellow, orange and pink all at once. The same sunset still amazes me.

Two years ago today, I heard the advice that has now proved to be true: “Bravery and courage are always rewarded.”

Two years ago, I went to bed at 11 pm {although it felt like 2 am to me}.

Two years ago, I prayed thinking “What am I doing here?!?!??!”

Two years ago today, a new chapter of life began.

Thank you to everyone who has made the past two years of my life what it is now. I am so very appreciative of you. Enjoy your weekend! xo

4 responses to “Two Years Ago Today

  1. Hi Andi,

    I see you went to Marrakech, what was it like and would you recommend?

    Thanks,

    Rachael

  2. You never looked scared even for a minute!

Leave a Reply

