share your life with the people you love

As you may know, I’m on a huge Shauna Niequist reading kick and can’t put her books down! I’m currently reading Bittersweet and one chapter of the book recently had me sobbing unconditionally like a small child. The chapter tells a story and shares advice from Shauna about carving time out of our busy day-to-day lives to spend with friends that matter the most. She shares how important it is to spend in-person time together and that if you’re lucky enough to have those close friends within walking distance, to soak it up to the best of your ability. A few bits and pieces from the chapter are below.

I’m blessed to have three of my best friends live in San Francisco. Sometimes I forget how exciting and awesome it is to have Ali, Courtney and Aimee, three of my friends-turned-sisters, live within walking distance of my apartment. I think that’s why this chapter in the book made me feel so weepy. It was a definite reminder to value the IN-PERSON time I have with the people I love. I was also reminded of my other friends-turned-sisters that I met in high school and college {Kristen, Caitlin, Stephanie, Tess and Paige to name a few} and how these words ring true: there is nothing quite like good, true, real friends. I don’t want the Christmas card type of friendship. I want the “I’m coming to visit this September!” friends, the I’m going to open my heart and soul up to you kind of friends. I’m thankful I’ve been given a handful of them and that we’ve valued this in-person company, despite the long flights and time difference.

This week, I’m remembering to share my life with the people I love. Hope you the the opportunity to do the same! xo

…possibly because the four years I lived there during college were the wildest and most disorienting years, punctuated by some of the sweetest moments in all of my life.

…and in those moments I realized why this kind of time together matters so much: because there are things you can’t know and questions you can’t ask, and memories you can’t recover via email and voicemail. it was about being there, and being there to really see what’s exactly the same and what’s totally different about each one of us.

…if you’re lucky enough to have your Monica and your Sara and your Kirsten all right in your very own town, I hope you soak it up, and that you lie around in each other’s backyards every Saturday afternoon or stay up late on one another’s porches three nights a week. But if you’re like me and if those faces are far away, get a weekend on the calendar and get there.

share your life with the people you love, even if it means saving up for a ticket and going without a few things for awhile to make it work. there are enough long lonely days of the same old thing and if you let enough years pass, and if you let the routine steamroll your life, you’ll wake up one day, isolated and weary, and wonder what happened to all of those old friends.

so walk across the street, or drive across town, or fly across the country, but don’t let really intimate loving friendships become the last item on a long to-do list. good friends are like breakfast. you think you’re too busy to eat breakfast, but then you find yourself exhausted and cranky halfway through the day, and discover that your attempt to save time totally backfired. in the same way, you can try to go it alone because you don’t have the time or because your house is too messy to have people over or because making new friends is like the very worst parts of dating. but halfway through a hard day or a hard week, you’ll realize in a flash that you’re breathtakingly lonely and that Christmas cards aren’t much company. Get up, make a phone call, buy a cheap ticket, open your front door.

…because there really is nothing like good friends, like the sounds of their laughter and the tones of their voices and the things they teach us in the quietest, smallest moments.

Friends 5

Friends 1

Friends 3

Friends 4

Friends 2

Leave a Reply

