Image

A Mother's Day Thank You

Mom – thank you.

For cooking often five meals for five picky eaters.
For braiding and curling and straightening and rebraiding my hair.
For singing at the top of your lungs while driving a minivan.
For driving those 24.2 miles every day, two times a day to take us to a Christian school.
For watching countless basketball and soccer games and cheerleading competitions and cross country races – and for always cheering the loudest.
For believing in the power of transformation and the miracle of metamorphosis. The theological term for that is faith.
For caring about my friends, for investing in their lives.
For constantly advocating for me and praying for me.
For helping me pick my homecoming dress and my dorm room curtains and my flight to California.
For dealing with my mood swings, my brown-turned-black-turned-blonde-turned red hair and my bad attitude.
For putting us three girls above yourself and your wants and needs day-in and day-out.
For instilling a love of reading in me. I love that we now read the same books!
For consistently challenging me and encouraging me.
For dinners together and coffee dates together and just sitting there together.
For cleaning our socks and finding our shoes and brushing our hair – often all at one time.
For your “lets do it!” attitude and openness to adventure.
For pretending like you weren’t mad at us when we stepped on and broke your antique table or disappointed in us when we broke your heart from bad decisions throughout adolescence.
For waking up in the middle of the night to soothe me, to cradle me, to sing me to sleep.
For getting through toddler temper tantrums and teenage attitudes and quarter-life crisises
For reminding me of “the other side” of the story or argument.
For exemplifying Christ’s love and grace to me and everyone else.
For being an active participant in each of our lives – for not being an “on the sidelines”-kinda of mom
For soothing me with Nikita ate my American Girl dolls hair and when Rugby ate my Nine West pumps
For pretending not to cry when I packed up a few suitcases and moved across the country.
For taking us to the library, to the park, to the pool, to grandmas.
For for those long drives to Athens to pick me up for four years straight.
For your enthusiasm and excitement even for the little things.
For extending your life to those around you, for literally and figuratively giving the shirt off your back to anyone and everyone.
For living inwardly and upwardly and outwardly.
Thank you for being my safe place.

I’ve caught myself getting more emotional as I get older and I started crying at CVS reading Mother’s Day cards earlier this week. A little embarrassing, right? Thinking about packaging up all I want to say to my mom and how I want to thank her doesn’t seem quite possible. I’m so filled with joy and gratitude thinking about the delicate places I’ve been over the past 24 years and how my mom has been in each and every one of those places with me, through and through. I can confidently say that I wouldn’t be who I am or where I am without my mom. A mom never quite stops doing her job – it didn’t end when I went to college or when I graduated or when I moved across the country. It hasn’t ended now that I’m an adult and don’t need her to pick me up from school or brush my hair or tuck me in to bed. She’s still an active participant in my life but in a deeper, adult friendship kind of way and for that I’m so thankful. Our relationship is so valuable and sacred to me that it often brings me to tears – and it is right now.

Thank you Momma, for being you.

One response to “A Mother's Day Thank You

  1. Pingback: for my mom | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

