Quote

Happy Father's Day, Dad!

There’s one quote about dads that always reminds me of my own: “It is admirable for a man to take his son fishing, but there is a special place in heaven for the father who takes his daughter shopping.” We’ve had family trips and vacations that revolve around shopping. Just last weekend, my dad literally acted as a chauffeur driving the five of us girls to and from different parts of this huge outlet mall – with coffees to power our day. It’s not just shopping though; my dad would drop anything he is doing for us. Need me to drive eight hours in one day to pick you up from college? Sure. Want me to go back to the store to buy your favorite kind of hummus? No problem. Need me to spend my day off moving boxes up and down staircases to get you out of your apartment? Didn’t have any other plans.

He is always showing his love for us through acts of service – and always putting us above himself.  For as long as I can remember, people will go up to him and say things like “Wow! No boys? I’m so sorry!” or “How do you live with so many women?” Never once has he complained about it and he lives in our chaotic, messy, makeup-infested home peacefully {despite the occasional sister fight about who’s wearing what pair of shoes}.

I could go on and on about my dad. He is someone that I still look up to, still call weekly with questions or for advice, still miss having 7am coffees and breakfast together. Dad, thanks for being such a gem. Love you lots and happy Father’s Day!

dad and girls

 Previous posts about my dad here and here.

Leave a Reply

