Image

Thursday Thankful List (on a Monday)

“When one is thirsty one quenches one’s thirst by drinking, not by reading books which treat of this condition.” – Jean Pierre de Caussade

The same is true of gratitude. If we are craving happiness and reason to be thankful and to live fully, it happens by doing just that, not by reading books or analyzing other people. You have to DO something. What I do to live on this wildly, crazy thankful journey is to write down the things I’m thankful for. Some days the list fills multiple pages in my journal, some days it’s just a few words scratched on a page. It doesn’t matter how many things I count; it’s that I’m counting in the first place. You satisfy your craving for joy and goodness by going out there and doing something – by seeking it in the best way you can. This is what it means to be thankful.

Here’s what’s on my list this week…what’s on yours? xo

That it’s August {?!?!}
Spending time with Lauren last weekend!
Ohio University reunions in San Francisco
Toast topped with almond butter
Quirky knobs on the dresser
A new toothbrush
The moment the fog burns out and sun peeks through the sky
Buying a new journal
Setting out my clothes the night before
Hazelnut coffee
Feeling well rested
Catching up on Molly’s blog
Hair appointments {I’m back to my bright red!}
Inspiring friends
Dahlias topping my bookcase
Productive mornings
Picnic tables
Healthy snacks
After work phone calls with my mom
August magazines
Being offered a seat on the bus
Roasted zucchini
People who make me feel comfortable
Claudine
Afternoon picnics
Determining what’s important and avoiding regret
Love that flows deep and wide for other people

One response to “Thursday Thankful List (on a Monday)

  1. Love this list and so cute that SP&A was on it. Happy Thankful Thursday! (on a Tuesday) ;)

Leave a Reply

