Image

New series! Inspiring Women, Part 1

Happy Wednesday! I’m excited to kick off a new series on Polish My Crown called Inspiring Women. I’m fortunate and so thankful to have a strong and supportive network of inspiring women in my life. This network ranges from family and close friends to blog-friends-turned-real-life-friends to lovely ladies I’ve met through other people or in other ways. I’ve reached out to some of these fabulous ladies and asked them four simple questions so you can get to know them and be equally inspired by the wonderfulness they pour into the world.

I couldn’t be happier to launch the series with a quick interview with one of my favorite bloggers, Gracie. She is one of those blog-friends-turned-real-life-friends and is my bi-coastal pen pal in a way. Gracie is enthusiastic, thoughtful and inspired by people, places and experiences in her day-to-day life. When I met her in personal {finally!}, I felt like I was meeting with a friend I’d known for years and I’m so thankful that I can text/email/call her anytime to catch up or vent or pray with or just about anything else. Here’s what she had to say…

What story is your life telling right now, today?
I would say that my life is telling the story of what it looks like to never settle – to never accept anything short of the greatness I know I deserve. It used to be difficult for me to even say that I deserved greatness because deep down inside I didn’t think I did. I thought I was just destined to live a standard, complacent life. But as I get older and I realize my value and worth (especially in the eyes of God), I learn more and more about the importance of never settling for the good over the great. Even though I’m still very much on a journey, I aim for the greatest of experiences and the greatest of relationships. I strive to do great things with my life – not just for myself, but for others. I hope my life tells a story that inspires others to see themselves the way God sees them, and to never write off that you (yes you!) are capable of doing great things.

What woman inspires you and why?
My sister, Katie. She has experienced and overcome things in her life that I’ve never seen anyone come out the other end of. She didn’t take the cards she was dealt in life and dwell in it. Instead, she made the decision to change her circumstances and completely turn her life around. Any time I find myself worried or complaining about things going on in my life, I draw inspiration from my sister’s strength and will to push through life’s difficulties. She also has used her experiences to help others, which I think is something we’re all called to do in one way or another.

What are three things you’re thankful for?
1. My friends and family. I’m thoroughly convinced I have the best of them! My family has always showered me with love and support, and they’ve shown me what unconditional love really looks like. My friends – especially those I’ve gained since moving to New York – genuinely see the absolute best in me…even more so than I see in myself. My friends are constantly inspiring me, and they’re just really FUN people to do life with.

2. New York City – specifically the fullness of life it brings. Who knows how long I’ll live here, but I’ll never forget how living in the greatest city in the world has changed my life. It caused me to grow on an exponential level and taught me things about myself and life that I never would have learned otherwise. Not to mention it’s just an exciting place to live with endless adventures to be had.

3. Holidays and special occasions. There is really nothing I enjoy more than celebrating with the people I love. I’m actually an all around happier person during the months of October through December just because it’s full of eating, drinking, and being merry with my favorite people. And don’t even get me started on birthdays, weddings, etc. Celebrating anything with loved ones is life’s greatest pleasure, if you ask me.

What’s one lesson you’ve learned that you can share w readers?
Don’t let the fear of failure or regret stop you from taking certain risks in life. If something doesn’t work out, so what? Chances are it’s not the end of the world. But you could miss out on some of life’s most amazing experiences and adventures if you don’t at least give it a shot. A quote I made up a few years ago that I think sums it up perfectly – “I’d rather live a life of ‘oh wells’ than ‘what ifs.’”

A HUGE thank you to Gracie for her bravery in sharing her story here. Stay inspired by Gracie’s adventures on her blog, Twitter and Instagram. xo!

Leave a Reply

