Image

a letter to kristen

One of my best friends is getting married today and I couldn’t be more thankful to stand by her side as a bridesmaid. It’s this weird and exciting and funny and scary and bittersweet feeling watching friends move on to the next stage in life and Dean is the absolute perfect person for Kristen to do that with. I’m pretty new to the whole wedding thing, as this is my first time being a bridesmaid and I can already tell that today will be a jumble of emotions. There will be a lot of laughing and giddiness and excitement and a lot of tears {I teared up like three times during the rehearsal…}. When it comes down to it, I’m just really thrilled to be a part of her and Dean’s big day and spend the day celebrating these two amazing, kind and beautiful people and their future together. We surprised Kristen with a book of letters from her family and the eight bridesmaids – I wanted to share my little piece of the book with you.

P.S. The pic above is all of the bridesmaids minus one from last night – I’m standing with a group of pretty fabulous ladies, wouldn’t you say!?

I hope you spend your weekend finding something to celebrate, whether it’s a friend’s marriage, a sunny Saturday afternoon or the amazing fact that you have a brand new day in front of you. xo!

Kristen,

First of all, I am THRILLED to be there with you celebrating your life and marriage. I feel so incredibly grateful to stand by your side as a bridesmaid tomorrow! The past eight or so years of life being good friends with you has been such a blessing to me. From the hilarious visits to OU and Kent and reunions back in Bowling Green over the holidays to the flights across the country (and soon-to-be across the globe!) and sleepovers (ummm…always), we’ve always made our friendship a priority and can always pick up right where we left off. You’re someone I’ve always looked up to for your laid back attitude, confidence, willingness to do anything or talk to anyone and excitement for life. I knew when you first brought up Dean that he was a keeper. I could tell from your voice on the phone and the way you lit up talking about him. Once I met him in person, I was 100% sold (the accent AND impressing MY parents? Double win ;))

Tomorrow will be a huge, monumental day celebrating the greatness of your past together and the beautiful present where you’ll stand up and get married in front of everyone you love. I have no doubt that your wedding day, September 27, 2013, will be an extraordinary day filled with happiness, joy and most importantly, love. What I am most excited about though is the stories and amazing years you guys will have together after your wedding day. Your future. You and Dean are going to laugh together, cry together, travel (a lot!) together, explore together, move furniture together, learn and then unlearn new things together, start a home together, start a family together. Your road as a couple has lots of big adventures in store – and I wish you both the absolute best. I wish you both more good days than bad days and hope that you always come back to your love story on those bad days to remind yourselves just how much and why you fell in love.

Now it’s time to start looking to flights from SF to Sydney!

Lots and lots of love to you beautiful friend,
Andi

Leave a Reply

