Image

Inspiring Women, Part 4

first of all, i wanted to say thank you for all of your positive support and feedback on my inspiring women series! i’m so glad you all are getting as much out of of these ladies’ stories that i am. i’m thrilled today to feature my good friend melissa today as a part of the series! i met melissa through the lovely world of twitter and we’ve gone from internet friends to “let’s jump on the phone and chat” kind of friends. i’m so thankful for her honesty about her life and where she’s at and for her encouragement. there have been emails and texts she’s sent me “just because” that made me cry simply feeling so thankful and loved by her. aren’t those the best kind of friends?

here’s what melissa had to say…

what story is your life telling right now, today?
Right now, my life is about balance and quality vs. quantity in all things. I think we all strive to achieve balance in some way – for most, it’s the ever-elusive work/life balance – and lately, I’ve really been focusing my energies on finding balance while valuing the quality of things, people, places, and so on instead of focusing on the quantity. Instead of having more friends, I want to nurture the friendships I have now and allow other relationships to grow naturally, rather than forcing them just to have more “friends”. Rather than working more, I want to be smarter about how I work. Instead of having to have the newest thing, I enjoy some of my old favorites. It’s a story, so it’s ongoing, but that’s what my life is like lately.

what woman inspires you and why?
My momma! I think the older that we get, the more we appreciate our parents and the sacrifices they make for us as we’re growing up and making our own way in the world. While my mom and I have always had our little spats, she has been so great to me both as a mom and a friend. The older I get, the more I understand some of the things she tried to teach me along the way, and I appreciate her more each day for it. I know that as time progresses, we’ll continue to have a great relationship and I so look forward to that!<

what are three things you’re thankful for?
Endlessly and always for my husband. My husband, Philip, is similar to me in so many ways, but different enough to have a different (and usually better!) perspective on things that may upset me. He’s more level headed and deals with situations in a a different way than I do, so I constantly go to him for advice and his take on a situation before I move forward.

My friends and family. Like I said before, I’ve been working on nurturing relationships and allowing them to grow and change organically. I have such wonderful people in my life, and they deserve to be recognized for how wonderful they are! They’ve been a support system, mentors, a way to escape a long day, and so much more – it’s hard to put into words how amazing my friends and family really are.

Books. No matter what is going on in life, I always make time to read books (both old and new), and it’s one of the things I’m most thankful for. I love working in digital media and having outlets like blogs and Instagram, but at the end of the day, I always find time to wind down with a good book. There’s nothing quite like getting lost in a good story or becoming friends with a great character, and it gives me the time to step back from the little frustrations of every day life.

whats one lesson you’ve learned that you can share with polish my crown readers?
do things at your own pace and always make decisions for yourself. I got married at a young age compared to what is the norm and while it’s definitely not for everyone, it’s been right for me and I love it. I’ve found the same with relationships of all kinds – if a relationship is unhealthy for me or is bringing me down, I try to move on in some way; be it fixing the relationship or moving forward. Sometimes it’s just best to recognize when it’s time to let go and more forward, and that pace is different for everyone. Do things for you, and everything else will fall in line.

follow melissa’s adventures on her blog, twitter and instagram!

what women inspire you? i would love to know! missed the first three? read about gracie, jillian and maddie!

Leave a Reply

