Image

reckless hearts

I’ve read Mary Schmich’s 1997 graduation speech at least one hundred times. I just love it. The speech is full of honest, real and raw advice, but there’s one piece that has stuck with me for years. It’s one line, two sentences and something that I remind myself time and time again.

Don’t be reckless with other people’s hearts. Don’t put up with people who are reckless with yours.

It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately in my own relationships and interactions with people around me. We have the responsibility to not only guard our own hearts from people who are reckless and hurtful, but to treat other people’s with the same respect and dignity. The advice is two-fold, but I seem to always start with the second half. If you are being treated any less than the magnificent, wonderfulness that you are, you need to take a step back. People who treat your heart with recklessness have no business being in your life, but you must be proactive to not put up with it. I’ve been there, trust me. I’ve also seen so many of my girlfriends stay in toxic, painful and reckless relationships because they didn’t think they deserved better or that they would find someone else. Don’t be like that, sweet friend. Have the strength, dignity and self-respect to walk away from anyone who treats you recklessly.

The first part of Mary Schmich’s advice is starting to become more and more important to me as I get older and truly learn to appreciate the value relationships with people, whether that’s friends, family, significant others, etc. Unfortunately, as frequently as I’ve seen friends get hurt by people, I’ve seen some of my favorite people be careless and negligent with other people’s feelings. I hate to say it, but looking back, I think I’ve been reckless with other people in the past and for me, it’s so important to move forward differently. We have the responsibility to guard our own hearts from recklessness, but an equal responsibility to not treat other people this way. We should be treated everyone, and most importantly those we love, with honestly, respect, support and grace, every single day.

This quote is definitely on repeat for me alllllll weekend. Enjoy your Friday! xo

2 responses to “reckless hearts

  1. Relationships are an enormous responsibility. I have often felt I underestimate how tricky maintaining long term and varied relationships is. Never to be reckless or accept recklessness with hearts is a beautiful way to describe things.

  2. Pingback: Five Things Friday {11.1.13} - Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

