Image

2014: the year of possibility

I’ve dubbed 2014 as the year of possibility.

I really like the idea of picking one word to mark my year and embracing that word throughout each and every day. One Word 365 shares: “Choose just one word. One word that sums up who you want to be or how you want to live. One word that you can focus on every day, all year long. It will take intentionality and commitment, but if you let it, your one word will shape not only your year, but also you. It will become the compass that directs your decisions and guides your steps. Discover the big impact one word can make.”

I want my word, possibility, to direct my decisions, shape my days and impact my life. What does possibility mean to me anyway? It means being open to whatever comes next. It means being okay with the potential of what might happen. It’s anticipating, it’s being hopeful. It’s not being being obsessed with guarantees or plans for the future, and instead taking it all as it comes. And then being okay with that. It’s embracing that I don’t know what’s going to happent tomorrow or the next day or the next day, but I can be ready and welcome each moment with open arms. That’s what I’m trying to do today, January 14, and every day this year.

Here’s a few of my favorite quotes and reminders on what possibility looks like. Do you have a word for 2014? xo!

“You do not need to know precisely what is happening, or exactly where it is all going. What you need is to recognize the possibilities and challenges offered by the present moment, and to embrace them with courage, faith and hope.” – Thomas Merton

“I don’t regret a single excess of my responsive youth. I only regret certain occasions and possibilities I didn’t embrace.”  Henry James

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.” – Shel Silverstein

“Write this down: My life is full of unlimited possibilities.” – Pablo

 

9 responses to “2014: the year of possibility

  1. Love the idea of choosing one word for the year! This is my first year doing it and I’m looking forward to how it works out. Possibility is a great word choice :)

  2. Love this post, Ander. Reminds me to always strive for more and to live in the moment! xoxo!

  3. Love this idea! I think if I had to choose one word for this year it’d be good. Maybe not the most complex or original word but to me it means focusing on doing good, feeling good, having good thoughts, and putting good out into the world. I want to let good direct my 2014.

    • Hi Sarah,
      Thanks for your comment! Good is a simple, yet important at the same time, word to mark your year. Goodness is something that is so good to strive for – but also remember that it’s surrounding you all the time. XO

  4. SO weird! I was doing this before I read this and heard of One Word 365!! My word I chose for this year is: fearless!!! I first thought about it when I decided what I wanted my work to reflect this year so I made a label and put it on my computer screen that says “When you create, be fearless” Cheers to a great year!!!! Love the post Andi!! <3

    • Katie,
      Hey girl hey! Fearless is SUCH a good word for the year. It may sound cheesy, but I LOVE this quote from Taylor Swift about being fearless: “To me, Fearless is not the absense of fear. It’s not being completely unafraid. To me, Fearless is having fears. Fearless is having doubts. Lots of them. To me, Fearless is living in spite of those things that scare you to death.”

      Happy 2014! xo

  5. Pingback: fridays and possibilities | Polish my Crown

  6. Pingback: how is it almost may? | Polish my Crown

Leave a Reply

