Image

a metaphor on growth and slowness

I discovered Sarah’s Yes and Yes blog through Clare’s blog recently and loved, loved, LOVED this post about growth and change and why slowness is a good thing. She wrote this beautiful metaphor and I wanted to re-share with you today. Read her original post here and definitely check out her blog!

“Rather bizarrely, I spent a large portion of my childhood thinking about wood.

By the age of 12, I knew how to start a fire in the furnace or fire pit. I knew which wood you used to get the fire going (birch), which wood burned fast (pine), and which wood burned hot and slow, keeping your house warm so you don’t have to get up in the middle of Family Matters and throw another log on (ash, oak, hickory.)

Why did those specific types of wood create more heat? Why did they make a better fire? Because they’re hardwood; they grow slowly.

Now here’s where that heavy-handed metaphor comes in: The good things in life
a career you really love
a loving, supportive relationship
emotional security + stability
are often the direct result of very slow, deeply unglamorous work.

There aren’t really any shortcuts to getting the good stuff. Discovering your talents, polishing them till they shine, and finding out how to make a living from them? That takes years (or 10,000 hours.) Trying things, failing, trying again, learning to cope with tough stuff, and emerging a smarter + better person? That takes years, too.

So you haven’t landed your dream job yet.
Or you haven’t amassed that 401k.
Or your writing skills aren’t where you’d like them to be.

Be patient. Be gentle with yourself. It takes an oak tree 20 years to produce its first acorn.

You’ll get there, slowly but surely.”

2 responses to “a metaphor on growth and slowness

  1. What a great post, thank you so much for sharing. I’m approaching my 27th birthday and while I love my life I’m finding that I’m under a lot of pressure, some of which is definitely self-inflicted. It seems like all my friends are getting married, building/buying their dream houses and having babies whereas while I have a great career I’m kind of just floating along. I have a lovely boyfriend but we’re not super serious and I have a great place but I just rent and have little savings. This post was a timely reminder that good things do take time and that’s okay! xx

  2. Pingback: Monthly Collective: April | Her Pursuit of Sunshine

Leave a Reply

